We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Sandwich”

Reading Terminal Market
Ranked #2 of 90 Dessert in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
225 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“What a Sandwich”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you are hungry and looking for really great corned beef or pastrami, stop at Herschel's in Reading Terminal Market. My companion ordered the Rueben (corned beef) and I had the pastrami. The first thing I noticed was the guy on the other side slicing the meat to order, not precut in a pile on the side. The sandwiches arrived quickly and the size of the pile of meat was a sight to behold, stacked THICK ! The smell of the meats, pickles and soups is a wonderful assault of the senses. My mouth was watering before I had a bite. Then pick it up, you need both hands and wow, bamm, the flavors are like a party in your mouth. My companion was equally impressed with her corned beef Rueben. Take the time and do Herschel's for lunch.
You will not be disappointed. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,188
    1,863
    305
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“How did we luck out?!?”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We got to stay at the Courtyard Marriott near this market, and we went there every day! There is a great mix of vendors and eating locations. I really loved that some of the foods I got to sample in Lancaster County, PA, were present there with Amish vendors. Ate lunch at one of the counters one day, and it was excellent. Don't miss the olive oil in the back.. Tubby Olive?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

So much fun- a foodie paradise! A booth that specializes in grilled cheese sandwiches - now that's cool! Donuts and ice cream! A Philly must visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pamkat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pearls Seafood”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I had a late lumch on a day when the Reading Terminal Market was very very crowded due to the Philadelphia Flower Show in the across the street Philadelphia Convention Center. We found two seats at the sit down counter service area. There are a number of tables to the one side of the restaurant in addition to the numerous counter seats. The service was excellent. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. I did not catch his name but I believe it started with a "C". My wife had three fried oysters with the sides of cole slaw and french fries. In addition, a roll and butter came with the platter. My wife, who loves oysters announced that they were some of the freshest she has ever had. I concurred when she shared a bite (small) with me. I had the fried shrimp platter which came with the same sides as the oyster platter, The shrimp were perfectly fried, not overcooked. The cole slaw is fresh and crispy and the french fries were also perfectly done.We would recommend this sit down spot to any one looking for a fresh seafood dinner in center city Philadelphia. There is the hustle and bustle of the Reading Terminal Market around you so its not a place for a romantic dinner,just perfect seafood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Keansburg, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I think I'm driving back to Philadelphia tomorrow”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

After spending the day at the flower show we hopped over to the Reading Terminal Market looking for something good to eat. We stumbled upon Kevin Parkers and boy were we lucky !
Everything we had (Fried Chicken, Smothered Chicken, Sweet Potatoes, Green Beans and Mac and Cheese) was so very delicious. We split the very generous sized portions of the sides (but I didn't really want to share my mac and cheese).
We do not usually go to Philly except for the flower show, but I certainly will be planning a trip in again soon. Maybe tomorrow.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tink513pd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing