We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Heaven”

Reading Terminal Market
Ranked #2 of 87 Dessert in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Buffet, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place is a must go for all foodies, a overload of great food. There is so much to eat, so many chocies, it is a 2 day stop. Da Nics for the roast pork, broccli rabe and provalone hereo is great. It is clean, everyone is friendly. They even have German food, , a bratwurst, saurkraut, on a foot long, $5, YUMMY!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,072
    1,827
    300
    48
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
194 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I can't imagine anyone not giving the market 5 stars. The market had everything I would like to have. I could probably go there every day and not get bored. There are cheesesteaks, sandwich shops, Chinese food, should food, cheese market, butcher, seafood shop, sushi, PA Dutch food, a sports bar...do I really need to go on? Unlike New Yorkers, the Philly folks who were the owners seemed much friendlier and willing to chat you up. Business is brisk during the week and we were there on a Sunday so about 25% of the shops were closed. I wish I could be there now!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tampann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So-so. Worth a quick stop if you're a tourist.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

A good place to see if you've never been to Philadelphia but frankly I think it's always way too crowded and the prepared foods are overpriced.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“crowded and overwhelming but LOVED the food and variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

my husband and I were there around lunch time so it was very crowded and difficult to take it all in..stuff, food, people, packed in every square inch but we loved the experience. I got a HUGE piece of lasagne (from some Italian joint) and it was delicious..husband got a philly cheese steak sub (of course) and he was quite pleased with that also. Stopped at one of the bakeries and got macaroons...probably the best I've ever had..brownies, and whoppie pies..all very good. meats, cheese, candy, produce and much more..definitely a "must stop" when in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is just fun. Fun to people watch, fun to try new things, fun to walk around. There is a little bit of everything at Reading Market and there is something for everyone. Go on a Saturday so all the vendors are open, as the Pennsylvania Dutch don't open their booths on Sunday.

Inside you'll find plenty of fresh produce, hot food, cold food, books, pastries, and neat little things you can't find anywhere else. I tried a piece of shoo-fly pie...and it was pretty disgusting, BUT I was happy I tried something new and something I can't find back home in Florida. I was not brave enough to try a chocolate covered onion, but maybe you will be.

Go, kill time, have fun :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing