We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Philly cheesesteaks”

Reading Terminal Market
Ranked #2 of 90 Dessert in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Philly cheesesteaks”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Okay, I understand Philly's pride in a sandwich that is full of fat and meat but mine was just okay. It needed some more flavour. Reading Terminal Market as a whole is awesome and worth the stop.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,186
    1,861
    305
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“busy, lots of choices”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I love coming to the market when I'm staying in a nearby hotel. I can buy a few groceries for my room. The food choices are numerous and I haven't run into anything bad yet. he turkey sandwich place towards the back is great, try a #6 just like Thanksgiving left overs. The beef brisket or pulled pork at Dinic's with provolone and broccoli rabe is yummy!!! There are Greek gyros, sushi, Chinese, soul food, cheese steaks, and a new German counter with great sausages.
The Amish side is a must. Their baked goods (sticky buns and apple dumplings) are a must! Though the market might be crowded and loud, go through and look at everything. Have lunch then wander over to 4th street cookies and get dessert to go. Or take some chocolate home with you.
The combinations are endless.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breegreenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
156 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“So many choices”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Take a few minutes to make a quick pass around the stands before you order. You will get a good feel for all the selections to help with your decision(s). I liked Dinic's and Salumeria.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vamosalbiceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful choices”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was wanting a real Philly Cheese Steak sandwich and Charley's at the back end of the market delivered. Very reasonable. Ask for extra pizza sauce on your sandwich, it makes it messy but very very good. Only problem in the market is finding a place to sit down and eat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gardentourgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good location and loaded with vendors”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you like great food and artsy shopping you can't go wrong here. Just walking around is a fun experience. It reminds me of Faneuil Hall in Boston. DiNic's roast pork sandwich was voted one of the Best Sandwiches in America. Believe it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing