We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“save$$ and stay outside philly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2009

you can save $$ by staying at this hotel right outside philly. If you are going to stay outside philly, this alternative to the pricier city hotels. you will find free parking on the street and don't even have to pay the $5.00 parking fee. There are many restaturants right on down the street like olive garden, chili's, california pizza kitchen, target.
if you get a high floor you can get a view of philly. we had a good view of the fireworks during july 4th. drive is not that bad about 7 min. from the city w/o traffic.
rooms are fairly clean, roomy as they are suites. typical homewood breakfast, nice front desk. saw sheryl crow free in philly that weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtsNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 799 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2009

We had a rough day traveling and weren't in the best of moods when we were cheerfully greeted by a wonderful clerk named Vanessa. As she checked us in, she explained to us breakfast times, available parking and that they had complementary dinners as well. The best was still yet to come. Both of our rooms were way more than we expected. Full size refrigerators and a stove top made it easy for us to prepare our lunches. The rooms were very clean and smelled wonderful. Breakfast was wonderful. We didn't get to partake in the free dinner. Although parking was not on the site, it was just a minute walk away. I don't think we were charged for parking. Vanessa and another clerk named Toni greeted us and made us feel at home each and every time we walked in the door. This may have been the best place I've ever stayed. This hotel was an easy 12 minute drive into the heart of Philly and even closer to Fairmount and the zoo. Still great location for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spillersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

I would highly recommend this hotel if you have small kids. Our room had a small kitchen, stocked with plates/utensils/cups. There was also a microwave. The hotel included dinner available on weeknights from 5-7pm, including alcohol. This is great and really convenient. It also had a full hot breakfast. This is perfect for families!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gburgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This is a decent hotel - good service and good rooms. However, it is too far from downtown. If you are going downtown expect a long commute in heavy traffic and at least $30 in taxi fare. If you want to be in this area then the hotel is nice enough.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

This is the 6th Homewood Suites we've stayed over last 3 yrs. HS are always a good deal but this one ranks the lowest of the 6. Dirty carpets, loud A/C unit in room closet?? Parking lot down the street ? Perfunctory staff (except for "Bett",breakfast hostess). Had to "share" pool with Hilton, that's a first. On the edge of a very rough neighbourhood, no evening walks for us.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

This hotel was nice ,but it could update a few things.The king size bed had a pillowtop mattress with a mattress topper on it and was fairly comfortable,however nothing compared to the mattress's in the Hampton Hotel in Center City which were so comfortable. They could use new carpeting.The carpeting was so worn in spots. The pull out sleeper sofa had no sheets we had to call the front desk for clean sheets ,which they brought up within 5 minutes of asking for the sheets.We had advance reservations for 4 people so they should have known to have sheets ready for the sleeper sofa.It had a nice little kitchen with a microwave and dishwasher and a table for 2 to sit and eat at. The kitchen was stocked with dishes and pots.The room was very clean ,no dust or grime in the corners anywhere in the room.The had parking down the street in a lot for 5 dollars or valet parking for 10 dollars .I used the 5 dollar parking which you could leave and come back as much as you wanted for 5 dollars a day provided you went to the front desk and had them stamp the card for you.The only drawback to the parking were the geese accross the street in the reservoir.You had to really watch where you were walking beacuse there were goose droppings all over the sidewalks and street.They had a free breakfast which was ok again I liked the Hampton Inn for their breakfast.They had a welcome Home Dinner every Monday-Thursday nite which i didn't get to try beacuse i was out at the times they had it.They had no brochures in the hotel about Philadelphia which i had to get at a visitor's center in Center City.I would stay at this hotel again but i hope they upgrade soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margieinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The staff were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. The room was big and clean. We had breakfast and dinner included. We got the Philly overnight deal and well worth the week stay. We used the pool attached to Hilton and parking was no issue right out front. It was convenient to Sesame Place and downtown Philly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#49 of 88 in Philadelphia
906 reviews
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#67 of 88 in Philadelphia
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#31 of 88 in Philadelphia
696 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Address: 4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $153 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing