We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel with bad parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lovely hotel, great food, and friendly staff. The lady that works the food service was outstanding at her job. Loading and unloading of baggage as well as parking was inefficent and below the standards of what a hotel in this price range should be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
2  Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 773 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We used to stay downtown and paid high prices. This is now our second stay at Homewood Suites and appreciate the size of the suites, the helpfulness of the staff and the value including the ability to stock a refrigerator and cook. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank William J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our family was in Philadelphia for a funeral this month and stayed one night at the Homewood Suites near City Avenue and I76. We have stayed at this propoerty before ( a few years ago ).The reservation was made just a few days before arrival and I reserved a king suite w/ a request for an upgrade to the one-bedroom at check-in.

The one-bedroom was great; a perfect amount of space for the kids. Our only complaint about the room was that it was next to the housekeeping room and we heard some loud laundry cycles right around bedtime through the walls.

Breakfast is included at Homewood which worked out great for traveling with kids and having an early morning start to the day. It was not the best in the world, the meats were not tastey, but the cereals and breads and drinks were adequate.

Lastly, my youngest daughter left her tennis shoes behind which we did not discover until late in the evening of the day we checked out. We called the hotel and while they werent able to locate them, they asked that we call back the next morning when a manager would be able to check into a secutiry room. Fortunately, we were in town a second night, but at a friend's house. It turned out housekeeping had stored the shoes in a secure room after cleaning our room and we were able to pick them up from the front desk later that morning.

I would recommend Homewood for family stays.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we stayed at this Homewood Suites on a spontaneous getaway to the Philly area. Location was very good ... close enough to the city but not in the heart of it. It's close to Fairmont Park. close to I-76, which was good for heading to various other locations.

The suite room was smaller than other Homewoods ... this one is basically a large hotel room with a small kitchenette, where other Homewood locations usually have a livingroom/kitchen area and a separate bedroom. But was clean, equally equipped and comfortable.

Breakfast was dissapointing (which is why I rated this 4 instead of 5) ... scrambled eggs were inconsistent, and I wish they had a different protein, like bacon ... not sausage. No hard boiled eggs. No chocolate milk available. And more seating area is needed ... the place was a mad-house.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

First off, lets just say the staff was more than polite. Went out of there way to make sure that guests are taken care of. Our room was the best one in the building (corner room), excellent view. The bed was awesomely comfortable.
FREE BREAKFAST, HOT and COLD, plus an array of choices. If you don't mind being 15-20min outside of the downtown PHILA area, then this place is perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaliaNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was my first "long term" stay at a hotel (1 week), the kind of thing I figured Homewood was meant for. When I arrived to check-in, there was no one at the desk. Instead, I was greeted by an irate guest cursing out someone on the phone for mispricing his delivery food order. Not a good start. Parking: You pay $5 a day for the privilege of parking in a lot 5 minutes away down a poorly lit street. You take a ticket, get it validated by the front desk and then present it when you leave the lot. When I'm traveling on business, I don't need another thing to worry about. Pacakge: I had a package delivered ahead of time. Usually, I am given the package when I check in. Since this didn't happen, I went on the second day to pick it up. The person at the desk looked at me like I was crazy before calling security to check. It then took at least another 20 minutes for the package to arrive. Finally, I found the Internet unreliable. Every so many hours you needed to restart the internet or else it would stop working without warning, even when connected to Ethernet. Poor cell service too. Bearable for traveling on business, but I would never stay here on personal travel. Despite it's address being listed as Philadelphia, there's not much around.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Staff was very helpful and made us feel welcome. The managers reception and breakfast (both complimentary) adds to the value of the room rate. The evening reception provides a full meal not just snacks and was very tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#48 of 87 in Philadelphia
880 reviews
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#66 of 87 in Philadelphia
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#28 of 87 in Philadelphia
678 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Address: 4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $128 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing