We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Vacation 8/18-8/21”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Ranked #40 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Exeter PA
2 reviews
“Family Vacation 8/18-8/21”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Hotel was great. Everyone who worked there was extremely nice and very accommodating. The suite was nice size and clean. The Breakfasts and Dinners were great. Couldn't have found a better place to stay for 3 nights. Location is just outside the main city , which is nice to plan anything from The Zoo to Penns Landing. Would definitely stay again!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    198
    80
    35
    27
See reviews for
265
124
46
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was staying on the 9th floor when both elevators were out of service for a day. I have a physical handicap and struggled to use the stairs. The front desk didn't even offer an apology. There was no effort to provide any type of accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Luis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your valuable input regarding our hotel and it's services and amenities. I appreciate you taking the time. Your suggestions and recommendations will assist us in improving our product and service for the future enjoyment of all of our guests. I am so sorry to hear about the problems with the elevator you encountered during your stay at our hotel. The issues have been addressed with the appropriate staff, and I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again. Next time you are coming into the area, please let me know so I may make sure you receive the true Hilton experience. Once again, thank you for your input and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Homewood Suites on City Ave while visiting some family and going to a wedding. At first, I was very pleased, we got a room on the 12th floor with a beautiful view. The room was clean and very nice, the first night the lady at the front desk was nice enough. The next morning is when the problems started. We went downstairs for breakfast which was mediocre, although I never really expect much from a hotel continental breakfast. However, on our way down to breakfast, the elevator stalled on the 9th floor and, at first wouldn't open, then wouldn't close. So the other couple in the elevator pushed the call button and the girl just said get out and use the stairs, which is fine, I'd rather not get trapped in the elevator. So we walked down 9 flights of stairs, eh no big deal. After breakfast, the elevators were still broken, so we went to target which is right down the street just so we didn't have to climb 12 flights of stairs. We get back from target over an hour later and the elevators are still broken. At this point, we had to shower and get ready for the wedding, so we had to climb 12 flights of stairs. Again, wouldn't have been a big deal, but when we asked at the front desk if they'd be up soon, as we did not want to climb 12 flights of stairs, the girl, Holly, at the front desk was so incredibly rude, blaming the elevator company saying there's nothing she could do about it... (she could have tried to be hospitable.. .you know, since she's supposed to be in the hospitality business) Then, when we came back downstairs, she was whining and moaning about the whole thing to one of the other guys that works there while shooting us nasty looks as we were sitting waiting for our ride to get there. I told the gentleman at the front desk about how nasty she was when we were checking out and he said he would take the parking off the room, so we'll see if that actually happens, but he was very nice, which is the main reason this is getting 3 stars instead of 1.

Room Tip: It seems as though the elevators break frequently so ask for a room on one of the lower floors if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cary3p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel bookended a road trip out of PHL.
It's attached to a Hilton wich offers a nice bar, and a restaurant.
The location is great fro getting into the city, and for some shopping.
For us, it was clean, the mattress was fine, the A/C worked.
When we had trouble with the TV, someone was up within 10 minutes.
The breakfasts and weekday dinners are a plus. I brought down my own yogurt for breakfast (refrigs. in room)
When I got home from my trip, weeks after I embarrassingly left some jewelry in the first room, and after I exhausted all other possibilities I called. The manager had my jewelry and was holding it in his safe for me since I was returning to the area. That's worth the EXCELLENT rating right there!
Enjoy----

Room Tip: We stayed both times on the reservoir side. Good view of cityscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

stayed here with my wife on a very short trip to Philly. This hotel is more suited to a longer stay. Room was efficiency style with a full kitchen, sitting area, bedroom and bath. no charging station near bed, must pull nite stand to get to outlet to charge your phone. Sink area is separate from water closest but doesn't have its own door, so if you are using it, it will be a distraction to someone in bed b/c the bed is right next to it. Hotel offers hot breakfast AND dinner. That night they had chicken teriyaki, but we were heading elsewhere. Used the fitness room which is shared with next door's Hilton. Could not access with my key however and had to have someone let me in. Parking is down the street in a public lot ($5 full in/out privileges), but that 1 minute walk is a bummer when its raining. Asked the front desk if they had an umbrella. They replied, yes, I think one's for sale in the gift shop. (!!)Lobby area is neat and clean. Our room looked over the scenic (?) Belmont Reservoir, but has a great view of the skyline of Philly. My wife was impressed with the 4 PM room delivery of two waters and package of cookies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Futbol14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We always enjoy staying at the Hilton, either the hotel or the Homewood Suites. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the staff is wonderful. I always stay at a Hilton whenver and wherever I travel. They always deliver

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Fl
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was an excellent choice for a hotel for Philadelphia. My son was swimming with a local swim team in the mornings and then we would go sightseeing. Stayed for 5 days, was extremely comfortable and the parking was only $5 per day. Would definitely stay again, especially having priced some of the downtown area hotels. Not much of a big city person and was glad not to be staying deep inside the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Protoceratops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#45 of 85 in Philadelphia
808 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#25 of 85 in Philadelphia
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,290 reviews
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#64 of 85 in Philadelphia
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Address: 4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing