We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very good hotel..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A very good hotel..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Value for money is excellent.. The sitting room is huge and comfortable, and a nice economical kitchen. Separate spacious Bedroom is perfect, very comfortable beds, clean toilets, free wired internet in the room actually works and fast, etc.. Breakfast and Dinner, and drinks comes as a big bonus and are free. Hotel staff are all very friendly, helpful, and special mention to Jasmine, who made a big positive contribution to the name of this property, and all the other guest of the hotel during our stay, including ours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and the kind word. I will surely pass them on to Jasmine and the rest of the staff. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    170
    71
    32
    21
See reviews for
229
116
35
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed in the Homewood Suites for 3 months, courtesy of my new employer and the stay there was truly fabulous.

Nice clean place, breakfast every day, dinner four days a week, with beer!

The staff was extremely nice, considerate, and very personable.

I would recommend the Homewood Suites to all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and the kind word. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location and property is a little quirky (pool is shared with next door Hilton, and parking is in a private out-door lot) but hotel is comfortable. The complementary dinner they serve Monday though Thursday is quite good if you're looking for just dinner and not a fancy restaurant experience, and the free breakfasts are good as well.

One downside is that the high speed internet in the rooms is wired (ethernet cable is provided) not wireless, which is a problem tablets and newer laptops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairlyFrugalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and the kind word. We are in the process of providing wireless in the guest suites before the end of the year. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have spent a lot of time at this hotel in the past year, due to an illness with an uncle who lives in the Philadelphia area. Most of the time, I was traveling by myself, and coming in at all times of the day or night, so safety was of utmost concern to me. Not only is this hotel safe for a woman traveling alone, but what really sets it apart from everything else in the area (and from other hotels all over the world that I have travelled to) is the exceptional quality of the staff. They make me feel so welcome upon each return visit, they ask about my uncle - they really care about my well-being. That is so rare these days. Rob (the hotel manager), Holly,Toni, Jasmine, Agnes (I am sorry if I missed anyone) are all exceptional members of the Homewood staff, and will do anything to make my stay more comfortable. The breakfast and weekday dinners are a welcome relief to eating out all the time, plus a big money-saver. The rooms are also well-suited to staying for a weekend, a week, or longer with the kitchen facilities. If business or pleasure calls you to this area, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and the kind word. I will surely pass them on to the entire staff. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel is not fancy, nothing to brag about, but it served our needs. We planned a weekend trip to Philadelphia to do the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, etc...Hotel was clean, staff was friendly, and the breakfast was actually decent (real hot food). My wife and I talked about if paying $20 to $40 more to stay in one of the downtown hotel would have been better...here are few positives and negatives about this hotel and it's location.
Positives
- in a quite/safe neighborhood
- its a suite, so have kitchen, sofa, little more room than your traditional hotel
- Good value for your money
- parking is only $5 per day

Negatives
- Proximity to downtown...traffic on highway 76 that you have to take to/from downtown seems always bad except for Sunday morning.
- Pool was okay. But they do need to do something about the pool deck...way too slipery.
- you have a beautiful view of the city if you can overlook that water treatment center directly in front of the hotel
- some wallpaper was peeling off and furniture torn, but was not overally noticiable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and the kind word. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Compared to other Hilton brand hotels, this one comes up a little shy of the standard for me. No wireless in the rooms (hard wire only). Breakfast items depleted at times (although it appeared to be a busy weekend with spring break). Staff indifferent at times (never mean or disrespectful), just not the super-friendly Hilton staff we are accustomed to. Very clean, everything worked in the room, and common areas very clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate your comments and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We will be sure to use your comments to improve the quality of service that we are offering. We are in the process of getting WiFi in the guest rooms in the next couple months. Again, thank you for your review and we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A great place to stay with every amenity needed for a business trip -excellent breakfast and cleanliness. Overall Hygiene was efficiently maintained. Very cordial and efficient task. Especially the General Manager and the front desk staff.
Yummy breakfast!!

I would love to go back.

Room Tip: I stayed on 3rd floor kings suite facing the reservoir. Choose the same if you like to wake upto gr8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SameerI_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#52 of 86 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#63 of 86 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131-1611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing