We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional customer service and great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for a weekend with our 1 year old daughter. The staff was incredible! They were polite, helpful, and referred to me by my first name when they saw me in the hallways/elevator. Like others said, the breakfast is nothing to rave about-- but it was free and so we didn't have high expectations. We had a one bedroom king suite-- very spacious and perfect with a small child. Our only complaint is that the heating/air system was very loud and woke our daughter multiple times in the night...but they allowed us to cancel our second night without a fee and were apologetic, even thought it was not their fault at all. I would definitely recommend this place-- it was very clean, great location, $5 parking, and an overall great value. Did I mention that the staff was awesome?!

Room Tip: If traveling with kids-- definitely get a suite, it is nice to hang out in the living quarters while...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnVinoVeritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and the kind word. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 772 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for an extended weekend in Philly. Hotel was safe and the spacious rooms were clean, tidy, nice and quiet. Good location near the highways. Front desk and housekeeping staff were superb and went above and beyond to serve us. Breakfast was mediocre but the staff was great. Great overall value for Philly!!

Cons: No wireless internet except for the lobby. (no biggie, used our LTE personal HotSpot) $5 daily parking across the street is about 1/4 mile downhill from the hotel. This is also where the $10 daily Valet spaces are. The parking lot looks ancient but it is staffed 24/7 with decent lighting and the gentlemen minding the lot were very friendly and eager to help. To access the pool and Gym you have to use the 2nd floor walkway into the neighboring Hilton - not a con really as the pool was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the reservoir if you would like a good view. Parking across/down the str...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whotnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and the kind word. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff, room, and food were all exceptional!! I had one of the most pleasurable stays ever, and it was made so wonderful mostly because of Bob, the General Manager. The staff are all amazing, and the food was delicicous. A real gem in Philly/Bala Cynwyd...

Room Tip: As for a view of the resevoir, as it will give you a nice view of Philadelphia in the distance.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and the kind word. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel provides a pretty good "bang for your buck" and the facility is clean. There are a few things to be aware of. 1st, you have to walk to parking which is maybe 1/4 of a mile from the building, you also have to pay $5 dollars a night to park off the premises. It is not very comforting that there are signs in the lot that say "lot owners are not responsible for damage/theft to vehicle".
While I was there, a party happened in the room next to me and even upon asking for assistance the night staff/ "security" was very unhelpful and did not rectify the situation. The staff in the morning was helpful and did give me a refund, but I would much rather have paid for the night and gotten some good sleep. It is close to many restaurants and major highways so that is a plus. It is a decent place to stay overall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Lynn_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have another chance to provide you with a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I loved this hotel. the staff was great and the breakfast was ok. (I would have liked more of a selection but it is included in rate so still good) Everyone was so friendly. Room clean and spacious. Great value and good for family. I would stay again! My daughter loved the pool. We were there for a cheer competition and the staff even congratulated my daughter on her big win. The kitchen was a big plus as we have 3 children and could store some of their items and even cook if I wanted....but hey who wants to cook??? Lol.....
We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our room overlooked the reservoir and the city. We watched the Canada Geese in the reservoir. Although we were just 15 minutes outside the city, we felt relaxed and comfortable.
They had hard wired complimentary wifi in the room. Hard wired wifi wasn't convenient for an iPad, but they had wireless wifi in the lobby.
The staff made you feel like family. Very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanMisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The rooms were clean, neat and nicely appointed. The staff seemed to genuinely enjoy serving. Even the waitstaff at the breakfast buffet smiled and gave a cheery "Good Morning!". Speaking of the breakfast buffet, it was ample and had a wide selection: scrambled eggs, sausages, tater tots, scones, bagels, cereal, Belgian waffles, coffee and juice (and a special tip o' the hat to the delicious apple-cinnamon scones!). The only negatives: the view directly in front is of a water treatment plant (though beyond that is a beautiful view of downtown Philly). As others have noted, there's only wired Internet in the rooms.

Overall, an excellent value for a delightful travel experience. It's been years since I've been to a Homewood Suites. This experience will make me look for them first in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#48 of 87 in Philadelphia
880 reviews
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#66 of 87 in Philadelphia
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#29 of 87 in Philadelphia
677 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Address: 4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $128 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing