We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a nice stay at this location. Very close to the town of Manayunk.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a nice stay at this location. Very close to the town of Manayunk.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our room overlooked the reservoir and the city. We watched the Canada Geese in the reservoir. Although we were just 15 minutes outside the city, we felt relaxed and comfortable.
They had hard wired complimentary wifi in the room. Hard wired wifi wasn't convenient for an iPad, but they had wireless wifi in the lobby.
The staff made you feel like family. Very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanMisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    205
    86
    37
    30
See reviews for
281
131
47
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The rooms were clean, neat and nicely appointed. The staff seemed to genuinely enjoy serving. Even the waitstaff at the breakfast buffet smiled and gave a cheery "Good Morning!". Speaking of the breakfast buffet, it was ample and had a wide selection: scrambled eggs, sausages, tater tots, scones, bagels, cereal, Belgian waffles, coffee and juice (and a special tip o' the hat to the delicious apple-cinnamon scones!). The only negatives: the view directly in front is of a water treatment plant (though beyond that is a beautiful view of downtown Philly). As others have noted, there's only wired Internet in the rooms.

Overall, an excellent value for a delightful travel experience. It's been years since I've been to a Homewood Suites. This experience will make me look for them first in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite and we had a good stay. Rooms were large and clean. Breakfast was good, but I found the food a bit colder than I liked. We were there on the weekend, so we did not get the dinner they offer Monday through Thursday.

Beds were comfortable and my wife now wants to get the bedding that they have on the beds. (You can order that online.)

Only complaint about the room is that despite how large the suite was, the bathrooms were cramped -- especially the one in the second bedroom. You could not use the sink with the door open as the open door blocked the sink.

Parking was a little strange as you had to park in a lot down the street. It's $5 per day and you can go in and out as much as you like. Just get your ticket validated at the front desk. So drop off your bags at the front door before you go park.

The pool was actually part of the adjacent Hilton hotel. There was no hot tub.

The price was reasonable and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltcjwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. Close enough to everything and easier to get to and access than hotels in Center City. All of the staff was wonderful and very friendly and helpful. The only negative thing is they don't have wifi in the rooms but are working on it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLK1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Let me start this off by staying it takes a lot to compel me to go out of my way to write a good review. However, my stay here is worth the extra time to compliment the property, management, and most importantly the staff.

I travel a lot as a government employee and for personal pleasure. I stay at dozens of hotels every year and most of my stays are about average. The Homewood Suites on City Avenue is above average with its amenities and appointments, to include the rooms, but that is not enough to get a rave review. It is the staff the staff that was amazing... whether it was a thoughtful and extremely well cooked dinner, or being greeted by the sweetest woman (Toni!) at the front counter, the staff made me feel like I was a rich man staying at the Waldorf Astoria in Manhattan. Seriously, every person went out of their way to remember the names of myself, my wife, my colleagues, and their families... It was the personalized touch of a bed and breakfast in a franchise hotel. I made it a point to speak with the manager and tell him how awesome his staff was, he then made sure to find me during dinner and thank me for the kind words. All that he asked in return was a nice review on trip advisor... so here it is! If you are staying in Philly, this place is close to the downtown area, affordable, near shopping, and will give you the best service ever... it wasn't just one person it was the whole staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and kind words. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our recent stay was completely positive right from the start, walking into the lobby and receiving a friendly welcome from Toni at the front desk. It is amazing how Toni greets everyone by name and the warm interaction she has with guests. Our room was well appointed, spacious and clean, with both a comfortable bed & a comfortable pull out sofa. We took advantage of the work out facilities, which was a plus after a long drive. The complimentary manager’s reception in the evening as well as the complimentary breakfast the next day was a real bonus- the food was very good and it certainly adds a great value to your stay. Parking was convenient and cheap at only $5.00 a day, with in & out privileges.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and certainly plan to return should our travels take us back to Philly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Shows like new, well equipped rooms for travelers requiring suite style accommodations with kitchen with necessary utensils.

Indoor pool is nice, and well equipped fitness center for this category hotel. Adequate included breakfast.

Small fee for ample parking, but on a very cold day it’s an awkwardly long walk to your car.

No wireless except in the lobby, and awkward shortfall given how so few of today’s portable electronics have a hardwire internet port.

Monotone unfriendly evening front desk manager; she was difficult to communicate with and was not very welcoming. The morning front desk attendant was far friendlier and accommodating.

Connects to the Hilton for access to a prime steakhouse and an upscale bar for socializing and unwinding.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PhillyFoodieVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#48 of 86 in Philadelphia
849 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#26 of 86 in Philadelphia
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#64 of 86 in Philadelphia
574 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Address: 4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing