We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The front desk clerk, Toni, went above and beyond to insure outstanding service. I arrived after their dinner service had closed, Toni made a point of making sure I was served as she personally went into the kitchen, got my food and had it served along with a glass of wine. Comfortable room and great staff. First time staying at this property, and I will be back. Manager, Robert McDevitt was also very attentive and accommodating.

Room Tip: 9th floor, facing SE, has a great view of downtown Philadelphia, especially at sunrise
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. I will pass on the kind words to Toni. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 775 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

I travel a lot to the Philadelphia PA region and have stayed at many Hotels. This Hotel rises above the rest because of the staff and manager Robert McDevitt . At the front desk you have Jacqui, Toni, and Vanessa who always welcomed me home by my first name. The front desk is very friendly and prompt to attend to matters at hand. The rooms are very clean and accomodating. The service staff is very responsive if you have a problem. The chef is top notch with weekly meals that compare or exceed local restaurant offerings. The kitchen staff such as Agnes and Marianna are very personable, friendly, and eager to wait on you. Parking is streetside or excellent prompt valet next door.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbray39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Jacquai was awesome and so was all the staff- they made us feel so welcomed! The room was very clean, the sheets were bleach white and beds were so soft! Plenty of towels and Bath and Body works shampoos and conditioner, The pool was small and breakfast was cold and inconvenient but the staff and cleanliness made this hotel well worth it!

Room Tip: We got the suite, so we had a bedroom that was off to the side and separate from the other bed and k...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwj2012phillygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Earlier reviews, particularly kudos for the desk, won our business for a one week visit back home. Toni is a guest travelers dream-come-true, always seems to be there all hours, solves problems, and has the cheeriest smile and warm greeting by name. The room was comfortable. We had some maintenance issues our first morning which Toni and their maintenance man solved on short notice by 8:30 AM.

The location is terrific, 20 minutes to downtown, Ardmore, Chestnut Hill in off-peak traffic. Parking is convenient. The room was comfy enough, good desk chair, plenty of drawers and outlets, a full sized fridge, microwave, 2 burner electric stove. Second floor connects to Hilton next door for ballrooms, bar and coffee shop. Only drawback...they don't have wireless internet in the room, and the ethernet cable hookup was very slow in the evenings, especially on the weekend.

Room Tip: Room facing East have great view of Center City in distance.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Rooms were beautiful, well-equipped with full-size refrigerator, microwave oven, and coffee maker, plus dishes, glass, cups, cutlery, cutting and serving tools, and pots and pans. Huge LG HDTV, exceedingly comfortable king-size bed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Decent exercise room at attached Hilton, with TV-equipped treadmills and elliptical, and weights. Good buffet-style breakfast included, and weekday dinners with single, tasty entree, vegetable, fruit, and with salad bar with several vegetable add-ons. Excellent value with AAA discount.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbelle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Remarkable-- a serendipity find in Philly. From the first moment with the front desk staff, the spacious yet comfy room, and included meals-- what a remarkable place. Everyone was helpful, the room had everything for a comfortable stay-- even a ceiling fan- how did they know? The staff was stellar, going out of the way to provide helpful directions and provide a hearty welcome and support during the stay. Full breakfast, and a tasty dinner. What a concept! This is definitely "Hotel Possible!"

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChooseToThrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

When my parents visit Philadelphia they always stay at this Homewood Suites. After my last stay, I know why they do.

After Sandy, like many people, we were without power. I had booked a long stay at the Homewood Suites just in case this occurred and was very glad I proactively made the reservation. I have to admit I expected the place to be swamped, not get the room I wanted and totally didn't expect to get all the normal HHonors treatment. I was pleasantly surprised that this was an overall excellent stay.

I called in the morning to see when we could check in and Toni was super helpful. She let me know our room was ready, power was on and we could head over any time. When we arrived Toni remembered me from the phone and got us checked in quickly. I even had my room preferences honored and my amenities waiting for me. The room was a pretty normal Homewood Suites studio room. Everything was very clean and the kitchen was fully stocked with all the pots, pans and accessories we might need.

The hotel also offers use of the next door Hilton's pool and gym facilities. The pool was being used by a bunch of happy kids and the gym was pretty nice as well. The weekday dinners offered at Homewood Suites are always nice and it was great to be able to have a few beers and a hot meal without leaving.

Upon checkout Toni was super friendly and we had no problem cancelling the extra days I had booked in case it took longer to get our power back.

The staff at this hotel really do a great job of keeping the place running smoothly and making all their guests comfortable. If you don't mind being a bit further from downtown or want to be out closely to the suburbs, this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#48 of 87 in Philadelphia
880 reviews
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#66 of 87 in Philadelphia
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#27 of 87 in Philadelphia
680 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Address: 4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $128 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing