We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place for a drink and a quick bite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Sheep Pub

Black Sheep Pub
Ranked #194 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Center West
Description: The Black Sheep Pub and Restaurant, Philadelphia's favorite Irish pub since 1999, is just a few steps from historic Rittenhouse Square.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good place for a drink and a quick bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Best part is there are multiple floors, so you can find a spot you like best. The food is good, not superb, but very acceptable. Good location.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pigeonherder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    55
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
near DC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A happy find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were in Philly during a few really bad weather days, and this place was a block from the Radisson Blu hotel, so we decided to try it. What a treat! First of all, the happy hour is great. We got to sample a few appetizers for $5 each, and the drinks were very reasonable. We stayed all evening, because of the rain, and it wasn't terribly crowded, so we didn't feel bad hogging the table. The food was excellent. The mac and cheese is sublime and the garlic fries were extremely unusual. They were long, curly slices (like from a veggie peeler), that had been fried to perfection - they were crispy and chewy at the same time. Do not miss these, whatever you do. The chipotle mayo dipping sauce was superb too.The steak and cheese egg-rolls were also excellent.

We will go back next time we are in Philly. We stay in the Rittenhouse area, but this is actually worth the walk or taxi ride.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Irish sports pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went for happy hour first and had some of the great appetizers for 5 bucks each the offer from 5 to 7, then a traditional irish meal with corned beef and cabbage for dinner. We met some friend there and really had a ball. They hyave a great selection of beers including Guiness. A great place to have some fun and do some drinking

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fun staff, Great beer, small venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, I recommend getting there before happy hour ends at 7pm. 5 dollars apps as big as your head

Good selection of beer, including chimay on draft. Scotch eggs are a must, despite what your cardiologist might say :)

Helpful?
Thank HoldenBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a great casual pub in center city philadelphia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

A terrific spot for a beer and filet sliders before the game last night. Cool staff, reasonable prices, good beer and scotches.
The only reason I don't give this five stars is its already full enough most nights, and greedily, I would hate to see it go from full to overcrowded. But the word of mouth has already taken care of that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobwphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Pub also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Black Sheep Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing