We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steaks!”

Jim's Steaks South St.
Ranked #31 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: City Center East
Description: THIS IS HOW IT'S DONE! In the summer of 1976, my father and a business partner opened Jim's Steaks South St., Bringing a unique art-deco storefront and an even more distinctive cheesesteak to a neighborhood in the midst of a renaissance. Few would have predicted that over the course of nearly four decades the shop would become one of the most celebrated restaurants in Philadelphia. You'll find us on what's known as the "Hippest Street in Town," serving up the finest cheesesteaks and hoagies from the heart of the city that made them famous. Five-time winner of Philadelphia Magazine's "Best of Philly" award and Zagat rated, Jim's is your 'must-have' cheesesteak when only the BEST will do. With well over 200 years of cheesesteak-making knowhow, our staff will make you glad you stopped in each and every time you visit. Whether you're a Philly native or a conventioneer, touring the city's incredible history and museums or just passing through, you'll know you're getting the real Philly cheesesteak experience when you walk through our door. Ask anyone who has tasted our sandwiches! We can't wait to show you how it's done. Our best, Ken Silver Second Generation Proprietor Jim's Steaks South St.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
365 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Great steaks!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Went from recommendations on here. We wanted somewhere not so touristy. We enjoyed South Street and all the eclectic shops while we were in the area. Back to Jim's where they load your sandwich with meat, LOAD! Excellent food. They have very little seating downstairs but plenty upstairs. Main thing - cash only - but, as another reviewer said, there is an ATM outside. There is a long line here but it moves very quickly so don't let that deter you. One last thing, this place is NOT handicap accessible. Don't try to get a wheelchair or walker inside. There's no room and no ramp. No worries if you are able-bodied. Just wanted to let everybody know. That is the only reason I gave them 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimsSouthStreet, Proprietor at Jim's Steaks South St., responded to this review, June 19, 2014
First off, thank you so much for the positive review. We‘re glad you enjoyed your steaks! In your comment, you mentioned that Jim’s South Street can’t be easily accessed by our customers with disabilities. While it’s true we don’t have a ramp or lift to the second floor seating area – one of the unfortunate limitations of a century old, historic building- we want our patrons to know that the store is accessible to all. To ensure this, we have built two separate areas of downstairs counter seating specifically to accommodate wheel chairs and individuals with mobility issues. Our wide front door entryway is on grade and we maintain a restroom designed to suit the needs of persons with physical challenges. In the event our customers should require special assistance, we are always happy to help them navigate the line and get comfortably situated. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me directly at (215) 928-1911. Again, thanks for your endorsement. We look forward to serving you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    445
    192
    60
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great steaks”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went on a recommendation by a local and was not disappointed. The atmosphere, food, price, and employees were all great. Definitely a great choice especially if your visiting liberty bell.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We debated on where to go and the locals told us that Jim's was best. It was tasty and not super greasy (which is what I don't like about philly cheesesteaks). Cash only here but they have an ATM inside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Utahans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEST CHEESETEAKS IN PHILLY!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Went here on local recommendation and were not at all disappointed! Best cheesesteak we had in Philly! Amazing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Cheesesteaks”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Recommended by a friend to go get late-night cheesesteaks at Jim's. The cheesesteaks were pretty good, decent size, reasonably priced. Never tried the other well known places, but apparently this place is way better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim's Steaks South St. also viewed

 

Been to Jim's Steaks South St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing