We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just really good pizza.”

Lorenzo & Sons Pizza
Ranked #280 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center East
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just really good pizza.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place serves great pizza, period. That's all they do, on a slice by very large slice basis. It's fantastic pizza. Recently reopened after a devastating fire, this place is a jewel on South Street. We travel 16 miles from our house when we get the urge for a slice of Lorenzo's. You have to try this pizza, you will be thrilled that you did. Great owners and nice people behind the counter. It's a fun place to experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillies 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
622 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Pizza Philly Style”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A great slice of pizza is a beautiful thing to eat and Lorenzo's does it to near perfection. This is no wimp slice of pie covering two plates and I would guess it to be 8" across and 14" long. The crust is just right to fold (the only way to eat a big slice) and the cheeses are such high quality that there is not a lot of oil, which I look for in quality cheeses. Super friendly staff,fast service and a clean, but small (standing only) counters. This is Philly style pizza at it's best, only cheese if you want a slice or add more items on a full pie.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tall_six6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Philly”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stopped here for a slice of pizza on a day trip in Philly. This was the biggest piece of pizza I have ever had! It covered the entire plate. It was so big I had to eat it off the edge of the plate. This is Mr. Traveler's favorite pizza spot in Philly (he grew up nearby) and he will not go anywhere else. Definitely recommend Lorenzo's to visitors and locals. It was great!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l3travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,431 reviews
990 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 745 helpful votes
“South Street Carb FIx”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The first thing you notice at Lorenzo & Sons is the word "NO". There are signs all over with the word "NO". No cameras, No Cell Phones, No Restrooms. One huge sign states "Don't even think about ordering a slice with anything on it!"
It's kind of that in you face Philly attitude that gives this place a personality and I love it.
It's located in the middle of South Street. You can't miss it as it has a giant mural on the front.
It's all about getting in, getting your carbs and getting out - fast!
The line is long, get in it, it moves fast.
Then one guy at the head with take your order - one slice - $3.00.
If you want a slice they only serve cheese. NO exceptions. If you want anything on it - you will need to order a whole buy.
The slices are huge. They just make one pizza after another at Lorenzo's, the volume here is amazing.
It's not friendly, as a matter of fact it's a gruff.
The pizza is good. A little more doughy than I like, but it's good. It's loaded with younger clients who are coming from the bars or just want a cheap eat. It's kind of a South Street tradition and hey for $3.00 it's worth a try!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Pizza Quickly”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The first time we ate here the pizza was thin, crispy, good toppings. We ate it while walking around the Italian Market. The second time we ate here, we ordered a whole pizza to take back to the office. Didn't seem as good. Crust may have suffered the wait from Lorenzo's to the office.
Not bad but not the best either. Satisfying....

Helpful?
Thank GoodToGo541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lorenzo & Sons Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Lorenzo & Sons Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing