We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost its glamour”

Jake's and Cooper's Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Jake's and Cooper's Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,542 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $15 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manayunk
Cross street: Levering
Transit: Septa Regional train R6 stops right behind the restaurant.
Description: Jake's and Cooper's Wine Bar is an innovative restaurant featuring New American cuisine for almost 30 years. Chef Bruce Cooper and his staff feature a classic approach to cuisine in a comfortable environment. Come try one of our wines from our new constructed Glass Wine Room at prices that are far below the industry mark up. In 2008, we opened Cooper's Brick Oven Wine Bar, adjacent to Jake's. Featuring more than 30 wines by the glass from all around the world, Cooper's is a casual, neighborhood eatery. We also welcome guests to bring your personal cellar selections and join us for dinner in the JAKE'S DINING ROOM for a $15 corkage fee any night of the week.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lost its glamour”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having eaten at Jakes for many many years, I was beyond disappointed this evening when I had one of the worst meals that I have had in years. I started with the escargot which were cold chewy and lacked any flavor. I then had a salad that was just ok. Dessert was good but not good enough to change my mind. Jakes used to be the best restaurant in Manayunk. What Happened?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherrytheskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped in Manayunk on our way out of downtown Philadelphia, and were pleasantly surprised by the great experience we had at Jake's Restaurant (we sat on the quiet side away from the bar). It was recommended to us by a shop owner across the street, and we ended up having one of the best meals during our week long visit to Pennsylvania (and we ate at other highly recommended places based on TripAdvisor reviews). The staff was friendly, our meals were delicious, we were able to people watch through the large windows facing the street. Plus, the special dessert of coconut cream pie was killer good.... we are thinking of driving back from Ohio just to have another meal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RingoPisco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryn mawr pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Always excellent”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The reviews are all very favorable (save one stick in the mud) and we would add ours as well. We have eaten here(both sides-Jake's and Cooper's) numerous time over last 5 years and it always delivers excellent food with great service. Many of the dishes are inventive. Can't go wrong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaisir, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Return visit...not disappointed but confusing web site”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are searching on the web for a great restaurant in lovely Manayunk do not be put off by the fact that Jake's restaurant comes up as a wine bar.......Jake's restaurant is next to Cooper's wine bar....same management, same food , different atmosphere. We knew the restaurant 7 years ago when it was just Jake's and wanted to return. having found it listed as a wine bar we nearly didn't go having concluded that it had been transformed into a wine bar...HOWEVER we found ourselves there and were pleasantly surprised to find the same restaurant redecorated very attractively with a great menu. Our meal was delicious and the service excellent. Food beautifully presented and the portions just right. If however you are looking for wine bar atmosphere plus excellent food then next door Cooper's is the place to be.

Helpful?
1 Thank saucon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, outstanding service.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We enjoyed a very pleasant evening at Jake's. Started with an outstanding English Mojito. The waitress was very competent and attentive, yet never let us feel rushed. Food was delicious. Started with duck spring roles - dee-lightful. Our entrees were a rack of lamb special over risotto with portabello mushrooms and a demiglaze and the other was their crab cake. Both were very good. Menu selections were limited. It is a nice place to take someone special for a comfortable, elegant dinner and you will not feel rushed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGS-Verona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's and Cooper's Wine Bar also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Jake's and Cooper's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing