We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Jewish Deli”

Famous 4th Street Delicatessen
Ranked #68 of 4,342 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Jewish Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Famous's is one of the oldest traditional deli's in the city. The corned beef and/or pastrami are very tasty, juicy and tender. The sandwiches are gigantic and each platter comes with two potato pancakes that are crispy and golden. there is also a large variety of soup to choose. Ask for a cup, as a bowl is at least 24oz. The one thing you cannot pass up is the selection of cookies, pastries or cakes. They have chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin cookies that are like a bite of buttery heaven. My favorite is the cheese kugel.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank queenbee853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    80
    24
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“First time here brought me right back to my NYC roots.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we sat down, they gave us a bowl of coleslaw/vinegerette and pickles. The first bite into the pickle, my mind went immediately to my childhood in NYC when we would walk home from the deli eating a pickle in a piece of wax paper. It only got better with the meal!. Plan to take it home and have left overs for dinner the next day. Wait staff is courteous, pleasent, informative, place is clean, parking is easy. Little pricey but when you consider you can get 2 to 3 hearty meals from it, it really is cheap. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1LGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lots”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We always try to be very hungary when we go there. Their corned beef, chopped liver, pastrami are all the best you can get in the city! Their cakes are terrific too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeveloff369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AS GOOD AS MANHATTAN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Some of the best deli's in the world, if not the best, are in Manhattan. 4th Street Deli is in that class. The sandwiches were over the top delicious with pastrami and corned beef as good as it gets, also loved the rye bread, very NY. The potato pancakes, as a side dish were crisp and something I'd expect to pay extra for, were included. Would go back to this restaurant in a heartbeat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendship, Maine
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Oh My God!!!! You'll Never Finish Your Meal!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Whenever we are in Philly, this is our go-to place for breakfast/brunch and always the place to take friends/family to impress them with the quantity and quality of the food. The wait staff is always funky and attentive.
We were returning from a wedding in Mecungie, PA and taking family back to the airport but coerced them into eating before they left. They were both happy and well sated for their trip back to St. Louis.
We had gigantic pastrami sandwiches, mounds of challah French Toast, enormous Western omelettes and mind-bending bagels with lox and cream cheese. Always too much to finish, they package the remains so that you can experience them again later in the day.
We even took pictures to send to friends to both let them see how wonderful our meal was and also to make them very, very jealous!!!!!
Don't miss stopping to visit this perfect deli on your next visit to Philly.
Forgot to mention all of the great take-away items that you pass by on the way out of the store. YUM! YUM!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous 4th Street Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Famous 4th Street Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing