We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ain't what it used to be.”
Review of Downey's Pub - CLOSED

Downey's Pub
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between Naudian & South
Description: Downey's overlooks Penn's Landing at Front & South Streets and opened in Philadelphia in 1976. The restaurant is located in the city's premier neighborhood, Society Hill. The rich mahogany bar, wood panels & stained glass panes were imported from Country Cork in Ireland. We are delighted to share these treasures with you & hope they make you feel at home. Our proximity to Historic Philadelphia & Independence Mall makes Downey's & ideal stop for groups requiring a relaxing meal. The electric selection of shops on South Street makes it a unique shopping experience.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ain't what it used to be.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was "dirty" tired and the service was poor. The food was mediocre at best. Was not an "Irish Pub" in anything but its name on the door and the big bar. There are plenty of excellent pubs within the area that are far better, friendlier and with some great food. Seemed to be living off it's "old" reputation and the old Irish Whiskey Cakes they used to make fresh, years ago.

Helpful?
1 Thank RWQPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    9
    10
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Don't go!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Don't go!! Server was awful.. Food for awful .. Best part was half off wine .. But how can that be messed up? Save yourself the trip.. Don't go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mkuzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, bad waitstaff”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

waited for my beer, dirty silverware, overpriced potato wedges. Server couldn't have cared less what he was serving us, but the place is really nice inside and I'm guessing on a normal night, a fun place.Potato wedges were skinny, not loaded, and burnt. Wasn't going to send it back, looked like a place that would then spit in your food,

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanAnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My Opinion - Skip This One”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a HUGE mistake going here yesterday! We were so disappointed. I ordered the Potato Soup -- and I took two spoonfuls - as it tasted like I was eating melted butter soup. The server didn't even question why I did not eat my soup -- she was just disturbed that she had a hard time placing my entree down when my soup was still in the way (I usually help, but I refused because I was disgusted). My entree was the Chicken Pot Pie. It was just okay -- again tasted like butter and salt. I guess that is how the cook flavors his food to try to hide how horrible it is. I managed to eat about a quarter of it. Again, our server did not seem to care that I hardly ate anything. Brian's glass was empty, and not once did the server (or hostess) notice or ask if he would like another drink. Funny thing is, I am not even sure the server will even realize why we left an extremely low tip. So, if you are in Philadelphia -- my opinion is to avoid this place. The service is non-caring and horrible, and the food is really, really awful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctburke26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“my lunch experience during restaurant in philly jan2013”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The restaurant was cold and dirty service was very slow and poor After being being seated at 345 for a 330 res didnt receive the 1st course until 415 the jumbo shrimp was baby shrimp an only received 3and after waiting almost an hour for the main course it was cold.The desert was soggy and wet chocolate cake . Bad Bad choice for restaurant week

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank evette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downey's Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing