We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a diner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trolley Car Diner

Trolley Car Diner
Ranked #441 of 4,339 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great for a diner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stopped in for lunch when we were in the area. Sandwiches were good and the service was reasonably fast. Overall, friendly staff and great diner food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Khadija T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Local Diner in the Heart of Germantown Ave.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I went here with a friend for breakfast. The diner is right on Germantown Ave next to Cresheim Valley rd. The inside has a lot of seating and the food was served quick and good. If you want a good diner on Germantown Ave, this is the one to go to!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Your typical diner.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

There was nothing really to rave home about for this experience. Trolley Car Diner is a typical diner with typical diner food. Although I wasn't impressed, I would still like to visit the ice cream shoppe that they open in season.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank divaheart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casey5508
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The best in diner food in Philadelphia. We have been there for brunch and lunch several times. The food and the service are always great. Also, the best old fashioned milkshakes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casey5508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A really great diner with really great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I could not decide between the BLT and the Meatball Parmigiana Hoagie so we bought both and split them. Excellent choice. We usually go there for breakfast so this was another new order for us. Highly recommend. See picture. Never been disappointed. Liquor license a bonus as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GRP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trolley Car Diner also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Trolley Car Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing