We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castor Garden Gem”

Steve's Prince of Steaks
Ranked #484 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castor Garden Gem”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I went there the past two sundays. Counter help is friendly, steaks are not greasy at all. My wife likes the american, I go for the cheez-wiz. We will see you NEXT sunday!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“real cheesesteaks, fast and delicious”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

good greasy food, fast too. parked in front in and out in 5 mins,

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank corpedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best cheesesteak In philly”
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Go here if you want the best cheesesteak in the city..workers can be kinda standoffish but Whatever there steaks are awesome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hahailockeduup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Park, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is the Real Deal”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Been in Philly 3 times in my life. 1st trip had to pickup truck in Levittown. Told tire shop I was not going to be able to go downtown for steak. Got real good cussing and learned the big 2 are tourist traps. Same as we have in Ft Worth, TX. They had long colorful argument about where to send Tex. Finally one of them mentioned Steves. They all agreed colorfully that they were illegitimate dummies for not thinking of Steves right away. OK. Where is this Steves? Just down the road. Thanks guys. Head down. Little place. Just opened for day. Told guy to make mine like his. With onions and American is his way. Took out 10-14 pcs of bologna thick ribeye and quickly grilled them. Slapped on bun. Cheese was white. Thought you were going to give me American. "It is American -not that [expletive} John Carey eats". LOL Got drink and fries. Hit good pepper bar. Sandwich was killer!!! Fantastic bread. Meat was great. Same with fries. Guy comes over and wants to know what I think. It sucks!! He laughs and says "you're alright Tex!". Promised him when he comes to TX I'm showing him good Tex Mex. Been back to this location one time and hit one on other side of town once. All have been great. Not fancy. Limited seating. But delicious honest food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HobsonVictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go here!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

After you take a bite of your cheesesteak wit fried onions you'll finally get what the 'Philly cheesesteak thing' is all about. Until then, you have only had a sandwich. It's in Northeast Philly and although I live in Wilmington, Delaware I'll still take the ride, it's WORTH it. I grew up in Philly and had cheesesteaks just about everywhere but the is no comparison. Downside: ...yep there is one. Once you try one you'll be spoiled and nothing else will compare. Steve's does it right. If your visiting and want to have a real cheesesteak, go to Steve's and stay away from the the whole Gino's vs. Pat's mess, that's just for tourists. Promise: One bite and you'll get it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleUkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve's Prince of Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Steve's Prince of Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing