We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Groups” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nam Phuong

Nam Phuong
Ranked #458 of 4,314 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good for Groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is in the "Phở Heaven" area of South Philly, lots of darn good beef noodle soup spots all around. Nam Phuong continually gets my business because they have more than great phở and tables for when your family visits. The menu is huge and I have yet to be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AJay503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delicious, and Cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It tastes like Vietnam! Finally a delicious pho place. The food here was fast and the vegetables and tofu so incredibly fresh. Two bowls of vegetable pho = $11, plus fresh spring rolls which were about $3. Completely worth the trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, but not the best service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Another place I eat at frequently.

Easy to get to restaurant in South Philadelphia. There is a parking lot that is shared with the supermarket and other stores.

The food here is pretty much always good. Pretty authentic Vietnamese food. Prices are definitely reasonable. A lot of room is you want to go with friends or family.

The con is not so much the food or cost, but the service. The food is brought out quickly, but that's usually the last you'll hear from the server unless you get the attention of one of them. They never come over to ask if you need a refill. They never come over to see if food is alright or if anything else is needed. Most times that is fine, but every so often it makes me want to bang my head against the table since they won't come over.

Overall, it's worth the visit if you want good affordable Vietnamese food. Also not bad if you want to have semi-private conversation with a dinner party.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pad Thai to die for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Every two weeks, we head into Philly to visit one of the Asian supermarkets on Washington St. We usually take the opportunity to have brunch at one of the local restaurants, and for our last two trips, we tried Nam Phuong (which shares a very overcrowded parking lott with our favorite supermarket).

This is one of those no-nonsense restaurants where you get seated straight away, hot tea is delivered and your order taken within a minute or so, and then your food is out within 5-10 minutes.

Everything is very fresh and tasty here, and the portions are generous. So what Vietnamese delicacies have I enjoyed my last two visits? Actually, I ordered the pad thai off their list of specials. I have to admit to being a little dubious the first time I ordered it (I was breaking one of my food rules that if you go to an ethnic restaurant, it is always best to stick what they're known for).

As it was, any reservations disappeared when my meal arrived and I took my first mouthful. It was absolutely sublime. An incredible taste explosion that I just couldn't get enough of. I find that mix of shrimp, chicken, peanut and perfectly cooked noodles addictive. After inhaling my meal, I tried to determine why it had been better than any pad thai I had previously, and the only thing that I can come up with is that their use of fish sauce, which just gives it that fuller, richer, more multi-dimensional taste.

We went back to Philly yesterday, and I turned down every other brunch suggestion, saying that I wanted to go back to Nam Phuong, and have the pad thai again, if it was on the special menu. Sure enough, it was on there, and it was just as good as the last time.

My wife had the seafood curry, and while she said that it was good, she was disappointed that it used artificial crab sticks (I shudder at those.. what an abomination).

Great food, fast service (albeit a little business-like, as another reviewer mentioned) and great prices. Next time, I promise to try something else.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittle_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, ME
Level Contributor
357 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A big, crowded place with very good food reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were there with a party of 8 on a Sunday night. It was very busy, but they have lots of large tables, and we were seated right away. The friendly, if business-like, staff took care of us very well, at whatever pace we wanted. Delicious apps to share, and of course lots if choices on the menu. Everything we tried was very good, and very reasonably priced. The ambiance is one of a very noisy, bright restaurant, but we certainly recommend the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Al-Sue-Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nam Phuong also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Nam Phuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing