We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Good”
Review of Pine Street Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pine Street Pizza
Ranked #2,211 of 4,388 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Pizza
Neighborhood: City Center East
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Center East
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
“Not So Good”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The pizza joint decor is fairly typical. There is the usual variety of standard mediocre items. The pizza is undercooked, oily and impoverished in the sauce department. With so many good pizza choices in Philadelphia (Marra's being my fave) head elsewhere. Still, it is not terrible, but I can't rate it as average. Service is OK, though the staff seem to have an odd definition of communication. They shout at each other, usually critquing one another's work habits. I believe this is what they see as good natured banter, but it comes off like an episode of the Loud Family on an old Saturday Night Live show.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Pine Street Pizza was recommended by a local for an authentic Philly Cheese Steak. The sandwich was dry and tasteless. The staff was not friendly or helpful and the restaurant decor is dated and dirty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fletcher1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Eck”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Eck. Lame pizza, disinterested service, not especially clean. I've been there maybe three times, it was never noteworthy except as I've described above.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“UGH!”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This was right around the corner from our hotel. I was very exctied to try it after hearing others talking about it in the lobby of our hotel...It looks like its been here for years!

The pizza LOOKED like a frozen pizza, or a school pizza, sooo much grease coming of it it pooled in the box. Sorry Philly, stick to your cheesesteak and pretzels and leave the pizza to New Yorkers...This was some of the worst pizza I have ever had from any major city. VERY disappointing

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeGurl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Perfectly fine little neighborhood pizza place. We had Greek salad (nice helping of feta cheese, quite good), mozzarella sticks, fried mushrooms, and a three topping pizza. The fried mushrooms and mozzarella sticks were standard generic versions and the pizza lacked much flavor. Prices were good, though, and the staff were quite helpful and friendly. Folks we talked to in the neighborhood agreed with previous reviewers that all of the cops come to eat there and that it's a decently popular place to eat.

We weren't unhappy, but were somewhat underwhelmed by the pizza. Still, unlike many restaurants in the area, the prices were great and there was no wait.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radagast59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Street Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Pine Street Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing