We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had to Return for Dessert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch Eating Place

Dutch Eating Place
Ranked #62 of 4,314 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Dutch, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Center East
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
269 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Had to Return for Dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

On a recent vacation to Philadelphia we visited the Reading Terminal Market in hopes of finding a real Philly cheese steak sandwich (we found a great one at Carmin's). But my wife had spotted the Dutch Eating Place when we were walking around and said we had to return there after lunch for dessert. Three of us had the Apple Dumpling with all the fixings - it was wonderful. So wonderful, that we had to return the next day for lunch and another apple dumpling from the Dutch Eating Place. We loved sitting at the counter and watching what everyone was eating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    84
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I've only tried the cheeseburger here, but I loved it, as did my wife and 3 kids, very good! Maybe breakfast or brunch next month.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarveyWallbanger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't see what all the fuss is about”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Walking through the Reading Market, I'm always surprised at the line waiting for counter space at breakfast time. Recently I was walking through around 9 AM on a Wednesday and was surprised to find only about half the seats occupied. At last, I could finally enjoy generous portions and good hearty homestyle cooking. Boy, was I ever disappointed. Ordered chipped beef served over a bed of steak fries. It was just gravy and if there was any beef in it, well you fooled me. And it wasn't even good gravy, basically just made right out of the jar. Even the coffee, though piping hot, was kind of weak and unimpressive. After the plates had been cleared away, I was still drinking my coffee when the waitress came over and said that she would give me a lid so I could take my coffee and leave. By this time less than half the seats were occupied and so there was no line waiting for a seat. I have no idea why she was in such a hurry for my departure. Very disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cranky_Traveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had a reuben and it was so good, I can't wait to get another one! The service was great despite being busy. The atmosphere was really cool too as customers were all talking to each other at the lunch counter. Very good experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank swandive208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tops My Friendliest Place to Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This place sells a great grilled ruben sandwich. No surprises: Tastes great but don't count calories.

On the super ++ side: You will meet people from all races and walks of life at the counter. Relax and enjoy your meal -- you will make new friends from different backgrounds and from all ages. It was great to see such diversity appreciating friends of all ages. This is America at its birthplace.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FeedMe_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Eating Place also viewed

 

Been to Dutch Eating Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing