We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sandwich”
Review of Dutch Eating Place

Dutch Eating Place
Ranked #60 of 4,390 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: City Center East
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwich”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had a reuben and it was so good, I can't wait to get another one! The service was great despite being busy. The atmosphere was really cool too as customers were all talking to each other at the lunch counter. Very good experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank swandive208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    86
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tops My Friendliest Place to Eat”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This place sells a great grilled ruben sandwich. No surprises: Tastes great but don't count calories.

On the super ++ side: You will meet people from all races and walks of life at the counter. Relax and enjoy your meal -- you will make new friends from different backgrounds and from all ages. It was great to see such diversity appreciating friends of all ages. This is America at its birthplace.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FeedMe_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Scrapple scrapple, my kingdom for a serving of scrapple!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Last weekend was the fourth time I have eaten breakfast here, so thought it was about time to post a review. The length of (the fast moving) queue tells most of what you need to know. My perfect order is the bacon, eggs & scrapple, washed down with OJ and Coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackthebiscuit010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrific breakfast experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for breakfast while visiting the Reading Terminal Market. It was reasonably priced and delicious! I had the French toast special while my husband had the blueberry pancakes. We also shared some breakfast potatoes with gravy - yumm! If you are hungry and looking for good food for a good price, you should make the trip to visit this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravelers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Traditional breakfast excellence”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our group tried omelettes and hot cakes. All were excellent. The fresh squeezed OJ was delightful. The service is tops. Beware, the line on a Saturday morning can be daunting, but it moves quickly. This isn't a place for a lingering sit down breakfast with friends. Watch the website for hours. They are a bit different than other shops in the Reading Terminal Market.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Eating Place also viewed

 

Been to Dutch Eating Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing