We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel of Europe”

Chestnut Grill & Sidewalk Cafe
Ranked #429 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chestnut Hill
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
333 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Feel of Europe”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great menu, reasonably priced and good service. I really liked the European feel dining on the veranda.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RicotheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem at Chestnut Hill”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staying at the collocated Chestnut Hill Hotel we noticed the large crowd of what looked to be mostly local al fresco diners each night as we returned to our room and took this as a good sign.

After getting the nonsense run-around from wait staff at 2 downtown restaurants (including the highly rated Oyster House) before we could even place an order on our last night in Philly, we headed back to Chestnut Hill to see if the local crowds were right, and we weren't disappointed a bit.

Taking seats at the bar, we were greeted by the friendly, accommodating and ebullient Megan. After being served a perfectly shaken dry martini, including the requested blue cheese olives without argument or excuses (unlike the Oyster House), we settled in over a complimentary basket of home made chips to peruse the eclectic menu.

The bride went for the Seared Tuna Nicoise Salad, while I chose the grilled trout. Both fish selections were perfectly prepared and flavorful. Nicoise salad was delightfully dressed with crisp greens, fresh green beans and flavorful chunks of potato.

Trout was accompanied by deliciously sautéed fresh spinach and a pleasant rice pilaf. Each entrée was generously portioned and an excellent value. We understand why the locals seem to flock here, and if we were locals, we would be regulars too.

Highly recommended for service and value.



Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grizzly9957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was on a business trip to the hotel and stayed there for two nights, and ate all my meals at the restaurant. I tried different menu options for every meal and all of it was truly excellent, and came at a very reasonable price. The wait staff and bartenders are all extremely friendly, and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A not so good stop in chestnut hill”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went here and was not a big fan of the menu change, I liked the old neighborhood bar feel with a decent beer list.

Servers were inattentive and everything was just so so

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, Consistent, and Reasonable”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

"The Grill" as it is called in neighboor commands a loyal following and for good reason. It has good food at a reasonable price supported by strong sevice and a freindly waitstaff. It is a good value and good expereince.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chestnut Grill & Sidewalk Cafe also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Chestnut Grill & Sidewalk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing