We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of Bourbon Blue

Bourbon Blue
Ranked #872 of 4,390 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manayunk
Cross street: Main St.
Transit: Two blocks from the R6 train. One block from the 61 and 35 bus.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I went here for a friends birthday party. The food was excellent with fast and friendly service. Please keep in mind that the restaurant was able to accommodate 25 people. The staff was very friendly and attentive. After dinner we decided to go downstairs where there is a lounge area, with a dance floor and DJ. This part was just ok. The music was not that great, actually it was dull and boring in my opinion. But if you enjoy wedding music like the electric slide and the shuffle, then this might be your HOT NIGHT spot.
Otherwise this restaurant has a nice decor and atmosphere with great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JThomasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great brunch, below average dinner”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've had bad and good at Bourbon, and enjoyed its nightlife as well. The cover bands are usually a lot of fun, so definitely go out after dinner here. Don't come for dinner though, because it's over priced and the food left something to be desired. Brunch the next day, on the other hand, is a must. Get the french toast, and plunder the bloody mary bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've only had one dining experience here and one happy hour experience. The happy hour was OK, but the dining was horrible. We were brought the wrong appetizer and the "cajun" entree I ordered was so displeasing to the palate that I could not finish the dinner. I failed to say anything to the management though, but I think I should have. I think everyone needs to assess places for their own preferences, but this is not a place I would visit again unless it was a free meal. I would not pay for this food. Also, parking is not great near this place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank UnionSupporter402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice Place, limited pub menu”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went to Bourbon Blue on a Saturday night. The place was full, but they were able to hustle and find us a table. The staff there is very friendly and attentive. The restaurant is beautiful...we had eaten outside on the deck in the summer, and this time had a great table inside. The drinks menu is extensive and varied. They have a great beer selection and make good mixed drinks.
The one downside we discovered about Bourbon is a somewhat limited pub menu. I know Saturday night is usually when restaurants need to make their money with entrees...but this is Manayunk, and I would think a lot of their crowd would appreciate a few more menu choices in the pub fare category. Their entrees are in the $20+ range.
So this review should be seen at a "very good" rating if you're looking for a nice Saturday night place with atmosphere, good service, and a variety of entrees. If you're looking for a drink and some sandwich/pub style fare, it's not a pefect fit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NortheastUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good food, good beverages, good views and good friends. Always happy to stop by the Blue! Sit on the deck and watch the river flow by.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourbon Blue also viewed

 

Been to Bourbon Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing