We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Locavore Restaurant!”
Review of White Dog Cafe

White Dog Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
White Dog Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 4,406 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 34th Street
Transit: Conveniently located a block east from the 36th Street stop on the Rt. 34 Trolley; two blocks south from the 34th Street stop on the Market-Frankford Line, and just around the corner from the 42 and 21 bus routes at 34th Street.
Description: White Dog Cafe was one of the original farm to table restaurants, founded in 1983 by social activist Judy Wicks promoting community environmental sustainability. White Dog Cafe is committed to serving the finest ingredients from local farms promoting sustainable, healthy dining and a strong community. Our contemporary American cuisine is prepared from our heart, blending seasonal ingredients and bold flavors with a refined presentation. Our three locations in Wayne, Haverford and University City provide unique and comfortable dining rooms paying tribute to everyone's beloved best friend. Open for Lunch, Brunch and Dinner with Happy Hour specials.
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Locavore Restaurant!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful dinner. We split two salads and three of us had the pasta specials and bolognase. Our other guest had the beef short rib which melted off the bone. It was a delightful evening..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    228
    68
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Strictly a college hangout with an attitude. The food isn't good. The service was ok. The place is noisy and crowded and not fun.

Helpful?
Thank howardm521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food but overpriced.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been there three times now. Each time we found the food and service very good. During our dinner the other evening I found the menu was new. I had the salmon which by itself was tasty, but the flavor was over shadowed by the sauce. The small serving of sweet potato was also buried beneath the fish and within the sauce. It did not come with a vegetable. My wife had the Char and it was very tasty.

Service was good but for an upscale restaurant should have been better. He was very polite yet after serving a drink that spilled over a little, there was no offer to clean up after. No bread was provided at our table but was seen at the other tables. It was the end if the evening and the service reflected it. Sadly, the tip was already added to the bill so it could not reflect the service

Overall nice food and environment but the prices should come $15-$20 to reflect the value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyed dinner”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

near UofPenn on Sansom...very interesting menu, well presented and very tasty...I rate it expensive as the entree does not include a side salad... although I would return

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calif_wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
624 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Earlier reviews talked of service problems. We had none of those, probably since we were with a wedding party in a private dining room. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the food and the wine list. Many of the ingredients are from local farms. There was even a decent Pennsylvania Merlot on the wine list.

The food quality was impressive. With about 12 of us, we had many of the entrees. Everyone expressed pleasure with each offering. The house special salad was a delicious combination of spring hot house cherry tomatoes, baby greens, red onion and shaved fennel, with a light vinaigrette dressing which was a perfect complement to the fresh vegetables. I had the fluke crudo, raw pieces of delicate fluke served with tomatoes, scallions, red pepper, arugula and a delicious citrus juice that the fluke had been soaked in.

Dinner choices were delightful. I had a spiced lamb bolognese. There were ample pieces of diced lamb in a light bolognese sauce, over perfectly cooked rigatoni pasta. Though the portion looked small it was quite filling. Carol had the halibut special. Just perfectly grilled and flaky, with little adornment, on a bed of pureed herb sauce and roasted potato cubes. Others at the table spoke highly of the risotto, the short ribs, scallops, mushroom soup, and even the burger! For dessert, I tried the rum cake with pecans. It was rich and delicious with a buttery sauce lightly applied. Another had the bread pudding special with frozen blueberries and loved it. The cheese board was well spoken of, including a cheese with nettles blended into it.

The wine list and after dinner drink list are terrific, with many choices from the reasonably priced to the top shelf.

This is not the most expensive restaurant in Philadelphia, but certainly not the least expensive either. The quality, however, justifies the cost in my view.

Fresh local ingredients, a deft and subtle touch by the chef to bring out the best in each dish, good desserts, a good wine list...what more could you ask for?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkrissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to White Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing