We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Cuisine”
Review of Silk City Diner

Silk City Diner
Ranked #220 of 4,406 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cool Cuisine”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Super fun decor, efficient staff, clean place, interesting menu. Great drink specials, and root beer floats. YUMMY, upscale selections! Previously featured on diners, drive-ins and dives, although they on longer had the featured items on the menu. That seemed strange to me.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravlinStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    62
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overrated and dissappointment”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Decided to go there on a Saturday morning with my family of 4 and meet 2 friends. We were refused seeting until "the whole party is here" so the 4 of us had to wait standing at the entrance at a half empty place because of some "rule". Really a bad way to greet your guests. The food was average for a diner and the coffee was not good and luke warm. Our server was nice. Would never ever go there again nor reccommend to friends - plenty of nice diners out there so no need to settle for an establishment that values it´s own rules more than the customers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Okbistroservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quirky, cozy and really good food!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Went there after seeing it on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. Typical old style diner but with cocktails! Had a pink panther martini- strawberry. Tasted great but didn't seem like much alcohol. Had two. $7each. Hubby had a crown royal manhattan- also $7' which was surprising. Started with Thai chicken wings and macaroni and cheese with bacon for two couples to share. Yum on both items. Two of us had meatloaf which is served with mashed potatoes, peas & carrots. Meat loaf is wrapped in bacon! It was around $17. I had buttermilk fried chicken, also served with mashed potatoes (which could've been hotter) and collard greens. Chicken was delicious and sweet like a honey taste. It also came with a honey jalapeño corn muffin. Was $17. Other diner had a grilled chicken sandwich which has long hots, broccoli rabe, prosciutto on a ciabatta roll and is served with fries. Diner compained that their mouth was on fire. For dessert, we shared the dessert du jour which was vanilla creme brûlée topped with lots lof powdered sugar- interesting and chocolate banana bread pudding. Both were good. Service was pretty good. We got there around 5ish on a Thursday before the place filled up. There was a wait when we left. Bathrooms were older but clean and unisex. Bill was $140 and included 7 cocktails for the four of us. Would return!

Helpful?
Thank aktlwer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definitely a hidden beauty”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

After our friend recommended this place for a late dinner and drinks, we had to try. Was phenomenal. Food was so delicious, and definitely something much better than 'diner food.' Their music was loud but the ambiance was perfect. Next door there was a night club room and after dinner we watched a break dancing competition. Was so much fun

Definitely go here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Place for Brunch”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We've been to the Silk City Diner twice now and both were good experiences. This is a great place to go for something more than your average diner brunch. Then menu is varied and interesting and there are usually some specials too. We had fried green tomatoes as a starter on our first visit and asked for them again. Unfortunately, the waitress came back and told us they had run out, but instead they gave us two of their gorgeous orange and ricotta Danish pastries on the house. Great service! Eggs Benedict is pretty ubiquitous, but in many places the Hollandaise sauce comes out of a can or a packet - not so here. Best Sunday brunch location we've found in Philadelphia and it will definitely become our regular.

One word of caution: the lounge seating area is decorated with some interesting paintings which may not be suitable for children. However, you can always ask to be seated in the diner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulS269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silk City Diner also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Silk City Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing