We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ice cream, nothing special, unfortunately.”

More Than Just Ice Cream
Reserve with OpenTable
More Than Just Ice Cream is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 91 Dessert in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center East
Description: More Than Just Ice Cream is Philadelphia's favorite spot for delicious dishes of your comfort! After our famous Ice Cream shop took off in the community, we expanded our menu to much more than just dessert! Today, we proudly serve everything from sandwiches and salads, to things on the sweeter side. Try something delectable like out Cowboy Burger smothered in BBQ sauce on a brioche bun, or our Chicken Quesadilla packed with flavor. You can't forget to save room for dessert at More Than Just Ice Cream- be sure to save room for our famous Mile High Apple pie, and of course, the ice cream! With our friendly service and even better food, come see why we're still one of the longest running restaurants in Philly at More Than Just Ice Cream!
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The ice cream, nothing special, unfortunately.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

With all the competition in the ice cream market, including the super market big guys (Ben and Jerry's), small independent shops need to crank it up to compete. In fact, I would bet it is made off site and by some mega manufacture, which can also be ok. Unfortunately this makes for 'ok' ice cream which, while it is good, it is not great. Yes, the baked goods, specifically the pies, looked delicious. I didn't try the sandwiches or anything else. I think if you have the words "Ice Cream" in the name of your restaurant, it should be great ice cream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chigurhanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    38
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yummy end to a perfect day”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Came to the city to see Wicked, had a good meal near the theater but we all wanted alitle treat before heading home. A cousin had recommend this place ,he was wise. The Richmond ice cream was rich and creamy and lost of choices. I had the caramel sundae with white chocolate,it was just sweet enough. Nice selection of other treats too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Artificial flavors?”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stopped by for ice cream only because I read somewhere that theirs was extra delicious due to having 16% butterfat. The banana ice cream tasted like artificial banana. Ben & Jerry's Chunky Monkey is my favorite ice cream and this wasn't even in the ballpark. The "Gayborhood" is fun & quirky and their decor fits.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great way to end our first night in Philadelphia...”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

As a previous review mentioned about "earning it", that is how we felt in stumbling across MTJI in spending the day walking 6 miles in the city (Memorial Day Sunday) seeing the sights and enjoying Jim's Steaks earlier that evening with my fiancé.

We decided to have a bit of desert before taking a stroll back to our hotel. I love coconut ice cream, and was not disappointed with theirs. The MTJI coconut ice cream was more natural in coconut flavor than some others that I have had in the past. The others can sometimes take on the sweetness of coconut filling in candies - which is OK by me. Just that this was more like eating fresh coconut. The fiancé had the Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie - and he said it was very rich and creamy. Putting it as one of the best he has had. The portions for both of us were very decent for the price. Memorial Day Weekend was a cool one, but that did not dampen enjoying our well deserved desert on the sidewalk tables.

Shame that on Memorial Day Monday that they would not open till 11AM. We would have loved to had tried having breakfast there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChipNovaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Philadelphia institution !”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

More Than Just Ice Cream (MTJI) has been a local favorite for 25+ years. As the name implies the front of the restaurant is an old fashioned ice cream parlor-style section where one can choose from many ice cream flavored and delicious home baked treats. The huge portion of tasty apple pie with ice cream is a favorite to eat in or take out.
The dining area has a casual atmosphere with a varied menu BYOB is also an option. There are even tables outside where I recently enjoyed a wonderful Greek salad. Note: My dog was treated to a bowl of fresh water during my lunch at an outside tables!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed More Than Just Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to More Than Just Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing