We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cock-A-Doodle-Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Happy Rooster

The Happy Rooster
Ranked #774 of 4,339 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Center West
Description: Conveniently located within walking distance of Rittenhouse Square, The Happy Rooster is a Philadelphia icon that has been serving delicious food for over four decades. With the exception of a whimsical rooster-themed stained glass window, the exterior of this corner bar is unassuming. Once inside however, quiet music and low lights create a relaxing atmosphere to enjoy drinks or a fabulous meal. Perched throughout in every size and medium, roosters definitely rule this roost!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cock-A-Doodle-Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My how the times have changed. When I first frequented the Rooster in the 1990's it was a tired sad place. The renovations and the direct access to the rear bar have really jazzed the decor up. The monthly/weekly specials on the board outside the restaurant provide tremendous value. It looks like another Philly mainstay has managed to come into the 21st century with a great menu, atmosphere and food value.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah J, Owner at The Happy Rooster, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It's so great to hear that you've enjoyed all of the renovations and work we're put into The Happy Rooster, Merv! Great food, cold beer, awesome atmosphere — that's what we've worked so hard for, so it's great to hear that you think we're hitting our mark. Thank you for being a loyal customer for the past 20 years and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Till then,
The Happy Rooster Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Interesting place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We found this small restaurant/bar just a short walk from our hotel so we had dinner there on our first night. Walked in hoping for a table and were in luck.

Great decor, low lighting, and a lively, upbeat atmosphere. Was quite busy the night we were there - was a Friday so I guess people were there to wind down (or was it up?) at the end of the working week.

Our server was certainly earning her keep - she seemed to be the only one looking after the diners and there were quite a few of us. The food was great - what we would call above average 'pub' food. I had the lobster macaroni gratin (seriously - it was very good) which was a starter but more than enough for a main, he had the bouillabaisse and we shared a side of brussels sprouts with parmesan and balsamic, simply because it had been ages since we had seen them on a menu. Delicious. Then an easy walk back to the hotel feeling quite pleased with ourselves for finding something so good, so close.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah J, Owner at The Happy Rooster, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It's great to hear that you loved the Lobster Macaroni Gratin! Good food, good service, authentic Philly vibe — that's our game plan, so we're very happy that you had the chance to stop in on your trip to Philadelphia. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope you come dine with us again on your next trip to the States!
All the best,
The Happy Rooster Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just went for drinks - it was O.K. - service was pretty slow (and drinks were pretty expensive) so we went elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judybug5202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah J, Owner at The Happy Rooster, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I'm glad that you stopped in and visited us, but very disappointed to hear that you found our service sub-par! Since you've written this review, we've worked hard to make a ton of improvements. We hope you'll give us another chance and let us know how we're doing!

All the best,
Happy Rooster Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good times at the Happy Rooster.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stopped here for a drink after doing some sightseeing. The bartender was fun, the drinks were good. We ended up staying quite a while. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nivelo199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah J, Owner at The Happy Rooster, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
It's so great to hear that you had a good time with us! Great drinks, friendly staff, great times — that's what we're all about, so it's great to hear that we're doing a good job! Thank you for your compliments here on TripAdvisor and I hope you come visit us again soon!

Cheers,
The Happy Rooster Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
170 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cool bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

In Philadelphia for business, stopped in for a quick drink at this very cool bar with rooster designs, lamps, decor everywhere. Loved the atmosphere, food looked good (from a distance) and I plan to return to try out the food soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah J, Owner at The Happy Rooster, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you had a chance to stop in with us while you were in Philly, Tess! We work hard to run one of the best bar/restaurants in Center City, so your compliments here on TripAdvisor mean so much to us! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you for a Lobster Roll on your next trip to Philly!

Cheers,
The Happy Rooster Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Rooster also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to The Happy Rooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing