We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic view and good food”

Chart House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #435 of 4,339 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: South Street
Sweden
Level Contributor
314 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Scenic view and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Business lunch on a very cold blustery day. In a glass enclosed restaurant watching the ice form on the windows while still toasty inside enjoying good company and food was nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    81
    71
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I dined her on Christmas night and it was one of the worst high ending dining experiences of my life. The service was slow and we had to ask the server multiple times for the same thing before we received it. Two of the meals came out totally wrong and had to be sent back. I wouldn't go here again or waste my money.

Helpful?
Thank Steve112975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chart House on the Water, Philly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Although the view was nice, window seat on the Delaware, the food was just ok. For the price of the entrees, we were disappointed. Lobster bisque served lukewarm, seared fish with orzo lacked seasoning. Filets were good as well as the short ribs. Overall, I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellafacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We ate there on a quiet night, so there should not have been any issues with the service. They forgot to bring my husband's beer and then brought the wrong wine for my daughter (and it was her second glass). They also forgot to bring the bread after they asked if we would like some. The appetizer was removed before it was finished, which was very strange. We waited a long time before our main course came. When we first arrived, they offered us the signature dessert. We asked them to ask us again after our appetizer, and they never did. The manager was aware of the wine issue and came to our table, but didn't offer to comp the second glass. The view is amazing, but I would not dine here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thehappydane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't Eat the View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Maybe this can be chalked up to it being Thanksgiving, but the place is crowded every night. The prices are quite expensive for the portions. My wife and mother had the scallop platter, it arrived with 4 medium sized scallops resting on wasabi mashed potatoes. They were tasty, but skimpy. The large cut of prime rib for $33 should have covered the plate, but was smaller than some less pretentious places. I had the TG turkey special, it came with 5-6 small slices of white meat turkey, a scoop of very good mashed potatoes, and a small scoop of spinach. All dishes arrived lukewarm, as did dad's coffee at the end of the meal. Frankly, I'd rather spend less for better food at an Outback.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodMakesMeHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House Restaurant also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Chart House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing