We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nodding Head made an otherwise Ho-Hum Monday night quite enjoyable”

Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Neighborhood: City Center West
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nodding Head made an otherwise Ho-Hum Monday night quite enjoyable”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great vibe and appreciated the brew pub feel. Tried half of the beer and ale offerings produced in-house and enjoyed them all. Monday night must have been Trivia Game night which was a good light time. Serving staff were attentive without being annoying and helpful in terms of advising on what to be expected from each of the establishments brewing efforts. All in all an enjoyable time. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tp21-5649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    51
    27
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't expect this!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stumbled upon Nodding Head when our group of 7 was to numerous for anybody to handle.
We asked them if they could sit our group then walked around for another 20-30 minutes. It is a very unassuming second floor location the stairway of which didn't necessarily lend confidence. We got to the top of the stairs to this very old pub looking place and they had already set a great table for us in the back room. The night only got better from there. Everyone at Nodding Head was pleasant, attentive, friendly and completely professional. The back room is great! The food well beyond my expectations. Then my son told me that the foodies from the (very good) restaurant he used to work for held their meetings at Nodding Head.
Now this place is casual, friendly, very reasonable. It is not a place trying to impress anyone. It was my husband and I and five 20 something's.
I had a grilled sushi grade tuna club that was out of this world.
Looking forward to going back!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mclean128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
224 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stumbled upon this place and ate lunch here. The beer was OK but the food was great. The Happy Pig sandwich was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant Sunday night stop in downtown Philly”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This brewpub, upstairs from another restaurant on Sansom St., has been around a while (13 years, my server said). Name derives from extensive bobblehead collection on display. I tried a couple of the five beers on tap on a Sunday night. Wet Chinook Double IPA was not quite what we'd call Imperial, 8.5% abv, fairly bittered, Ich Bin Ein Berliner Weisse was more interesting, callled a sour wheat beer, tart with low alcohol. Had that with the mussels provencal, which were steamed with fines herbs and shallots. Tasty, but the one ordinary roll for dipping was a disappointment (see picture).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
540 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Incredible Little Brewery in Downtown Philly!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Only had about an hour but was able to try a couple of their house beers. They brew on site. I had mystery amber (brewed with coffee beans) and another - maybe an IPA? Both were excellent and the bartender/brewer was both pleasant and knowledgeable without being pretentious. Awesome music selection on their "juke box" and a cute selection of bobble heads - hence the name. If I ever make it back to Philly this will be one of my stops. Hopefully, I'll have a little more time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing