We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place - imaginative four course menu - great service”
Review of Little Fish

Little Fish
Ranked #472 of 4,388 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun place - imaginative four course menu - great service”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a very small, high quality restaurant. Generally just 2 seatings per evening so reserve well in advance. All food is well prepared; imaginatively presented; great service.
Bring your own wine or beer - corkage charge may apply.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tejo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    10
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“5 phenomenal courses”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Went last night and had the tasting menu. 5 courses for only $33 dollars. The meal could easily have cost $75 per person and been well worth it. Honestly one of the best meals my wife and I have ever had. The service was quick but we did not feel rushed and the variety of creative plates was amazing. The seviche tuna with pickled celery root and navy beans was refreshing, delicious, and unique. Scallops were cooked perfectly. Even the dessert was delicious. We have had some much more expensive meals in Philadelphia, and I cannot speak to the regular menu here, but this tasting menu was phenomenal and the value incredible.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth. TX
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Little everything but taste”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Small menu, small room (though very tasteful; kitchen in view behind glass). Just about every item on the menu is seafood of some kind. Don't even think of coming here if you don't just love seafood. Mostly white fish the night we were there. Exquisitely prepared. Expensive. BYOB (that helps with the expense). Reservations necessary.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loooved this restaurant. The meal was full of surprises and was a Sunday prix fix dinner. The chefs are creative and the food and presentation was outstanding

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank prella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Won't go back.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was told before I went by a friend, "it's good but D'mitri's is better." He was right.

We went on Valentine's Day and had 9:15 reservations. We got there early (about 8:45) and were told they wouldn't be able to seat us till our reservation time, which is fine and expected. Since there is literally NOwhere to wait except outside (and it was freezing) we went down the street to have a drink. We rushed to get back at 9:15, at which time we were told they couldn't seat us for another 15 minutes so we had to wait outside. The restaurant is extremely small, which is part of it's charm. But the tables are also only 6" apart which meant I could see the girl across at the table next to us in my peripherals the whole time, and could hear their entire conversation (as I'm sure they could ours). The tables are so close it's almost like you are sitting at the table with others, so there is very little privacy or intimacy.
There were only 4 appetizer choices (cheapest was $16) and 4 entrees (cheapest was $32); I heard they are known for their Hawaiian Butterfish, which wasn't an option when we went. We ordered 10 oysters (5 of each of the 2 kinds they had), an appetizer, and an entree. Total bill, $125 (+ tip = $150). The oysters were extremely small and sort of shriveled, and there were SHELLS!! At this price and when marketed as a seafood specialty restaurant, there better not be shells in my damn oysters. Then we waited.................. our appetizer was delivered about 30 minutes later. The scallop appetizer was pretty good, but consisted of I think 2 1/2 scallops cut up ($17??!!). Then we waited again............. at 11 PM (and after seeing 3 tables that arrived after us, asking the waitress where our food was, and seeing her go tell the chefs she needed ours next) we FINALLY got our food; an hour an a half after we sat down. The entrees were pretty good, but very small for the prices.
Overall, D'mitri's is definitely a better option if you're looking for a small BYOB in Queen Village with an intimate setting. There food has always been spot on (and bigger), you get your own table and aren't forced to share your date with strangers, and their MUCH more reasonably priced than Little Fish.
Little Fish had really good food but was seriously overpriced, and the service and ambiance made it DEFINITELY not worth $150. Same night at D'mitri's would've been $50-$60, and at least you can wait at New Wave across the street.

Had been wanting to try it for years and had very high expectations... the restaurant choice kind of ruined our Valentine's Day,and I definitely won't go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Fish also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Little Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing