We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and good food too!”
Review of Davio's

Davio's
Reserve with OpenTable
Davio's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Chestnut & Sansom
Description: Davio’s, with its “Northern Italian Steakhouse” cuisine, brings a deliciously unique flair to a city famous worldwide for its Italian restaurants. Situated in the historic Provident Bank Building in Center City Philadelphia, Davio’s offers diners the complete upscale dining experience - exquisite food, expertly prepared and presented in a grandly historic ambience. Davio’s skilled wait-staff provide guests with relaxed, yet attentive service, and are smartly garbed in long white coats reminiscent of Italy’s finest restaurants. Offering Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner 7 days a week, the restaurant has already gained popularity as a prime spot for both “Power Breakfast” and “Power Lunch” among the Philadelphia business community. Dinner also brings local and national luminaries from all walks of life on a regular basis. Reservations are suggested for the main dining room.
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and good food too!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This was a wonderful restaurant for dinner. It was beautiful, the food was wonderful, and fantastic service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    146
    63
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
210 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Our experience was OK but not great”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I had read the reviews on TripAdvisor, so I made comparisons.

The room was rather noisy. We could not hear the waitress's voice across a four-person table. Two of us who ordered pasta judged it to be mediocre, especially in comparison with the best Italian restaurants. The wait staff were attentive, more so after we told them we would like to go to another function after dinner. The wine list had few options under $70, but our wine was pretty decent. Our bill was reasonable. Overall, the experience was typical of a large restaurant chain.

The restaurant was a tad difficult to find because it has the same street address as a hotel, and the hotel staff told us the restaurant was on the second floor, so we ended up on the second floor of the hotel!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Based on Yelp reviews we happened upon this restaurant....and what a find!!! Superb Italian food....some of the best I have ever tasted. Fresh pasta, beef you could cut with a fork, and amazing desserts. I wish we had reason to return to Philadelphia soon just so we could enjoy this wonderful find again!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonni9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still An Amazing Experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit here and let me tell you that we still we're so impress by service and attention to details. The food was incredible! I had trouble deciding what to eat so the waiter said "let me pick something special for you." I said sure! And man I did not regret it. He even choose a great wine to go along it. I had a steak like I never had it before. It was soooo delicious! No matter what is the occasion they will take care of you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our daughter birthday diner”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We took our daughter to dinner here. Wow....from remembering (we put it in our reservation) our daughter birthday and addressing it every time they could to EXCELLENT service. The waiter took the time to explain and answer in a very nice and willing way what we wanted to know about the menu. Patient and NICE! Food quality was outstanding and flavors were best. Breads were locally made and desserts came with a decorated plate with our daughters name in a chocolate lettering. What a detail that I have not seen another restaurant do before. Awesome evening! priced right.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davio's also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Davio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing