We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Davio's

Davio's
Reserve with OpenTable
Davio's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 4,339 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Chestnut & Sansom
Description: Davio’s, with its “Northern Italian Steakhouse” cuisine, brings a deliciously unique flair to a city famous worldwide for its Italian restaurants. Situated in the historic Provident Bank Building in Center City Philadelphia, Davio’s offers diners the complete upscale dining experience - exquisite food, expertly prepared and presented in a grandly historic ambience. Davio’s skilled wait-staff provide guests with relaxed, yet attentive service, and are smartly garbed in long white coats reminiscent of Italy’s finest restaurants. Offering Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner 7 days a week, the restaurant has already gained popularity as a prime spot for both “Power Breakfast” and “Power Lunch” among the Philadelphia business community. Dinner also brings local and national luminaries from all walks of life on a regular basis. Reservations are suggested for the main dining room.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was there with a colleague of mine on a business trip. He previously had dined at Davio's in Boston, but I had yet to try it. It was a high class, great dining experience. I'll be going to Davio's in Boston sometime soon.

Food, drinks, service were all excellent. A great place to go with friends, a romantic dinner or for a business engagement.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrys67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    144
    63
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great dinner.”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Great food - I had scallops but the menu had a varied section of full meals or a la carte entrees and sides. Lively atmosphere. The bar was full mid week. Excellent service. They catered to us intently. A little pricey but its an upscale restaurant in downtown Philly so based on that , it was about right. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lite Dinner at the Bar”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Interesting location on the second floor of the building, accessed by elevator. We were there on July 4, and it wasn't too crowded. Based on the location, I suspect it gets a big afterwork crowd. Be adventurous and try the chicken livers in balsamic...the balsamic creates a crunchy grilled coating. I was skeptical but won over. Pastas are available in half portions. We were a party of two, and ordered two half portions, and shared. We ate at the bar...good drinks...and ordered piecemeal, which we prefer. All the food was very good. A nice find.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xpuha_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food...slow service.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We chose Davio because of its proximity to our hotel. It has a lovely ambiance and the entire staff works as a team to provide friendly and capable service. Our food was delicious, homemade pasta, but our dinner ran over two hours due to a slow kitchen.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange, ca
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“From Top to Bottom, a wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We literally just dropped our bags in the hotel, and got this recommendation from the front desk. Needless to say no one in our party was dressed fro a white tablecloth restaurant. However, the staff was more than accommodating, and seated us quickly.

The ambiance was qute relaxing. Tall ceilings, tables adequately space so you had room to stretch out, noise level at a low hum.

We started with a couple of red wines from a good wine selection and fairly priced. Odd buying California wines when we had just left California. They had a great selection of soups and starter salads. Our group has diverse dietary restrictions, from vegetarians to Gluten Free to Carnivores., however everyone found something to their liking. I dont have specific selections but the Veggie Ravioli, Steaks, and Lamb Chops were cooked to perfection. We also sampled several of their desserts, and the cheesecake and Creme Brulee were hits.

Great dining experience, Attentive service, and just good food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fmationg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davio's also viewed

 

Been to Davio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing