We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of Davio's

Davio's
Reserve with OpenTable
Davio's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 4,390 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Chestnut & Sansom
Description: Davio’s, with its “Northern Italian Steakhouse” cuisine, brings a deliciously unique flair to a city famous worldwide for its Italian restaurants. Situated in the historic Provident Bank Building in Center City Philadelphia, Davio’s offers diners the complete upscale dining experience - exquisite food, expertly prepared and presented in a grandly historic ambience. Davio’s skilled wait-staff provide guests with relaxed, yet attentive service, and are smartly garbed in long white coats reminiscent of Italy’s finest restaurants. Offering Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner 7 days a week, the restaurant has already gained popularity as a prime spot for both “Power Breakfast” and “Power Lunch” among the Philadelphia business community. Dinner also brings local and national luminaries from all walks of life on a regular basis. Reservations are suggested for the main dining room.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food was so good that we even went back another night. Try the sampler spring roll appetizers, they were yummy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    147
    64
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Perfect dining experience!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The atmosphere is beautiful, service is excellent, and the food was amazing! Calamari was tender, cheesesteak egg rolls were as good as they say, and the scallops were by far the best scallops we have ever had! The desserts were presented beautifully and enjoyable! Cannot wait to go back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisrd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A nice change to the average italian restaurant”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I really enjoyed eating at Davio's. The food was well prepared and the atmosphere was nice. I wouldn't say it is my favorite place in Philly when visiting this time around, but they do know how to make yummy food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharlie9776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Davios' s has been in Philadelphia for about 13 years. Being a native Philadelphian I remember when they opened. Why I waited so long to experience this culinary delight is beyond me but I anticipate making up for lost time by goingback again and again. Outstanding service, warm decor, excellent wine list which is reasonable, great bartender and food that is a grade above the best. Do not hesitate to treatyourself to this Center City gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It is a great room with a nice ambience.

Most of the food and service (up to a point) was very good. The ribeye steak and the veal chop were very good, if not excellent. However, the special fish dinner contained many bones (over 10) and was very difficult, almost dangerous to eat, that is a game changer.

The manager offered free desserts (even though the special already had a free desert), which I thought was rather lame; moreover, they brought the wrong desert.

Service was great until we mentioned the fish bones, and then they appear to ignore our table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikosQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davio's also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Davio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing