We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food, Service and Ambiance all Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Romano

Bistro Romano
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Romano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 4,339 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between Front and 2nd
Transit: Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus
Connecticut
Level Contributor
360 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Food, Service and Ambiance all Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited on Saturday night while at a conference in Philly. We were joined by another couple and chose Bistro based upon the TA reviews. The photos of the place were inviting as were the reviews. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent. The service matched it, and the ambiance was warm and intimate. We all enjoyed the night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    106
    35
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful Italian restaurant. The architecture would be worth checking out this restaurant on its own, but the food and service is also incredible. Located in an old granary building, there is a head piece on the back bar, from an old ship, that is amazing. Sit at the bar and check out the building before heading downstairs to the restaurant where you will be surrounded by rock walls and old world wood construction. Order a Caesar salad, which they make at your table. We had homemade pasta and homemade sausage dishes which were great. All of the servers really make dining a great experience. We had Brianne, who is a gem!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not a fan of the food..Great atmosphere, Excellent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

First I have to say we went on WOW Wednesday and the price for an appetizer, entrée and dessert was $33 which is an excellent price. I also need to say that my husband thoroughly enjoyed his meal. I had settled on the veal saltimbocca but then really didn't want to eat veal. Our server suggested that they could do chicken saltimbocca instead which is one of my favorites. Perfect. Unfortunately it ended up coming as two chicken breasts, overcooked, with the sauce poured on top. The pasta that came with it was a saucer size plate of linguine with a dollop of sauce. For dessert my husband had crème brulee which was yummy but the white chocolate mousse that I ordered was just OK. I would not return, especially at regular (off Wednesday) prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlyceBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“For fresh, Excellent Italian, Try Bistro Romano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

For an excellent Italian meal in a cozy atmosphere, try Bistro Romano. Near Headhouse Square in Philadelphia. The menu is filled with inviting options, from antipasti to a luscious dessert tray. As we do every time we come, we began with their delicious Caesar salad, which is prepared table side with the freshest of ingredients. Our group had a variety of pastas, all of which were delicious. I had a succulent slab of fresh grouper with a balsamic glaze and roasted asparagus. The wine list is extensive, and the dessert tray is inviting. We shared a delicious plate of chocolate profiteroles to end a lovely meal. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I had a fabulous dinner. We started with the Caesar salad, which was prepared at the table and it was excellent. We followed with two of the ravioli. One with sausage and broccoli rabe and the other was a lobster. Both very fresh with great flavor. We concluded with the very nice tira misu. The restaurant was recommended by the hotel concierge and the entire experience was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Romano also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Bistro Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing