We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Special: Not So Special”
Review of London Grill

London Grill
Ranked #544 of 4,392 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 23rd and Fairmount Ave
Transit: Philadelphia Trolley Works (2200 Block of Fairmount) SEPTA ROUTE 48 Bus on corner
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lobster Special: Not So Special”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Four of us went for the August lobster specials. Considering that lobsters from Maine and Canada are a glut on the market, The London grill got top dollar for small lobsters. All side dishes were extra. The men had oysters on the 1/2 shell and said they were very good. I ordered a glass of wine and thought it a short pour. I said so to the waiter, but he said it was "standard".
Would I be in any hurry to go back? No!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marian0286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    36
    29
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AndWhere2Next
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun neighborhood spot for drinks or dinner with sidewalk table service”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was my first time back to London Grill in about three years and this experience was consistent with the previous: good value, interesting menu, friendly service with a choice of atmospheres - sidewalk, sunroom, tavern, or watercolor room - depending on how casual you prefer. It seemed they had a problem with food temperature though.

We tried many different small plates and would recommend the crispy polenta and the tomato bread pudding. Both of these items were delicious and served at the appropriate temperature. The lamb meatballs and ratatouille were tasty, but they were not at the right temperature.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndWhere2Next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great wait staff”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our family ate lunch on a weekday after the lunch rush. Two in our family live in the neighborhood and eat there often. We were seated immediately on an enclosed patio and enjoyed the atmosphere. The burgers were delicious, and the wait staff attentive. When we visit Philadelphia again, we will be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WesleyCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How the mighty have fallen”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Five years ago it was among the best places in the city for a reasonably priced lunch or brunch. Superb wait staff, terrific service start to finish, and a lovely, semi-scenic view of north Philly and the prison, now a tourist mecca, two blocks east. Either it changed hands or management, but over the past two years service and the food itself has declined. Got there on Father's Day, seated fairly quickly, then waited fifteen minutes for the waitress who was sweetly incompetent and polite in an inept way. Took drink orders then vanished for twenty minutes. Returned, took our order, at which point (we're there already 25 minutes) a busboy brings water, the coffee we had asked for on being seated, and the small complimentary plate of fruit (mushy, not fresh) and pastry (off the rack?) that's been a London stand-by forever. The drinks (Bloody Marys) arrived with the brunch orders (Eggs Benedict), and everything was cold, including the brunch orders. Food just ok. You can't get the individually designed frittatas any more; interesting things like the beet salad seem to have gone missing; they still have creme brulee dessert, but only as a mousse. And one really misses the old wait staff, a crew of smart young folk who did things with grace and dispatch. Dunno what's happened to the place, which had come a long way from the old neighborhood bar it was back in the late 70s, when Bukowsky lived in the neighborhood and poets gave reading on the second floor. Too bad.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jatab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinsville, nj
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“very nice bruch”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very nice selection of breaskfat and lunch items for brunch. The french toast was not very inspired, but the other dished were very good. Good service. We sat in a semi private small dinign area with a pleasant ambience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertmaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Grill also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to London Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing