We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Improvement”

Devon Seafood Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Devon Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Chancellor & Walnut
Description: With an indulgent menu focused on superior quality seafood, Devon Seafood Grill crafts its dishes with exacting standards & pampers its guests in a comfortable atmosphere. Featuring a generous cellar selection, an oyster bar & creative cuisine, Devon delivers culinary excellence at a surprising value. Open for weekday lunch, dinner & Sunday Brunch.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big Improvement”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Devon used to be one of my favorite seafood restaurants in Philly but a year ago, I had two disappointing experiences in a row and stopped going. Went again in August for lunch and was very happy with my experience. Service was spot on, food was delicious (lobster cobb salad rocked) and when you sit in the front of the restaurant when they can have the doors open to Rittenhouse Square, there's no place like it. Great place to meet for drinks because that front section is so large. And in the fall when it's not so hot, the front doors will be open often so if it's a nice day, get there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    258
    89
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aston, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Date night spot”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here. We have been to the location in Hershey, PA as well. This location did not disappoint. Get on their email list and you will receive a free meal on your birthday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dadof4Aston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Devon Seafood Grill - sidewalk scene looking out on Rittenhouse park - a lot like Paris”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A lot like a mid-summer night's dream as well.
Friendly and convivial.
Bring a small group of friends along with you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, DE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went on a Monday evening for a dinner with business associates and sat at a rectagular table in the back of the restaurant. Drink orders were taken promptly, but water was not brought until well after the drinks were served and an ordered bottle of wine did not show up until after a second request. The large chilled sefoood platter ordered for the table was somewhat skimpy. The lobster claws and crab claws were dry and not fresh tasting. After our host would up sucking down a bad oyster, his dining experience was ruined for the night. Lobster roll appetizer was good, but more filling than lobster. My grilled halibut was very good, as were the sides, but my wife's scallops were small and gritty. General feedback from the group was "fair to average" for both foood and ambience. I probably would not give Devon a second chance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Devon has a great location and really tasty food. If the weather is right sit outside have a great meal and enjoy Center City

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Delta767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devon Seafood Grill also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Devon Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing