We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Cocktails”
Review of Jack's Firehouse

Jack's Firehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Jack's Firehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 22nd Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious Cocktails”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stopped here after touring Eastern State, and enjoyed the Manhattans and a fancier cheesesteak than I'm used to. The service was very good, and I really liked the atmosphere of the old, converted firehouse.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matilda_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    132
    52
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great casual restaurant with tasty food”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went to Jack's after visiting the Eastern State Pen across the street. It was recommended by one of the tour guides. We sat outside, which was wonderful. The menu had some brunch items on it as well as burgers, cheese steaks, etc. Those who like a bloody mary or two would love this place. Very cool decor. Entrance is a garage-door type entrance, like an old fire house door. Our server was good though I don't recall his name.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Philly Treat”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Located across the street from Eastern States Penitentiary (now closed as a prison but open as a fascinating tourist site), Jack's is located in a former firehouse (the pole is still in the ceiling) and has a charm that is unique and distinctive. Two sculls with oars attached hang from the ceiling, the front doors open completely in nice weather and a bar highlights the front area. But the food and service is what you come for. Ample portions, well prepared and served by an enthusiastic and efficient staff. This is our third visit (this time after a visit to the nearby Philadelphia Museum of Art) and the crusted salmon and lip-smacking ribs were wonderful. So too, the black-eyed peas and bacon soup. Just a real treat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
245 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Huge portions, loud crowd”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely night outside, enjoying okay food. The ribs were rather greasy and the crowds inside were just too loud.

The price is right for the quality of food which, in my opinion, is okay but not great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambiance, awesome and friendly service! ”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for a late lunch after visiting Eastern State Penitentiary and it was a great find for food in Philly. We ordered pulled pork with corn chips and the flavor was spot on. Then the portibello mushroom soup with truffle oil and it was one of the best soups I have ever had anywhere! We also had the crabcake sandwich and BBQ pork sandwich, all were wonderful. It's all set in an old firehouse and also has outdoor seating. Don't miss this place!

Helpful?
Thank Rosox218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Firehouse also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing