We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place”
Review of Jack's Firehouse

Jack's Firehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Jack's Firehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 22nd Street
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good place”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Pretty chill atmosphere. Mainstream music. Drinks were a little pricey. Bartenders were very very nice, and fast. Bathrooms and bar were clean. They could afford more chairs out in the front room.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SRK1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    132
    52
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading PA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Neat atmosphere, average food, cold dining room- wear a jacket!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Visited on October 18th 12 noon for lunch on a recommendation from a friend. We were excited because I read the reviews on trip advisor and they looked very good. My friend also raved about this place. Upon entering they had the front large door open so the entire restaurant was cold. My wife had to eat with her jacket on. The bar area was large and very cool. My suspicion is this place might be just a good "bar" and not as much as a restaurant. They had absolutely no good beers on tap, just a bunch of junk beer. Lunch menu was tiny. I had the smoked chicken salad sandwich which was made with processed chicken, not fresh chicken. My wife's Brisket was so hard to eat she had to cut it into small slivers just to be able to chew thru it. Fresh bread at the beginning of the meal was nice. Pricing was fairly good for Philadelphia. Not so sure I will return, there really isn't anything here to bring me back, especially the food. The only really great thing about this place is the location, directly across from the Prison we just took a tour of. We wished we would have gone somewhere else for lunch. What a shame.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPVenezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food and setting”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

While on a recent visit to Philadelphia, we had lunch at Jack's and were pleasantly surprised. I had a burger which was generous and quite tasty. The accompanying fries were the best that I have recently experienced. The restaurant is in an old firehouse across the street from an old prison making for a very interesting setting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
419 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Welcome world after being sprung from prison”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Right across the street from the Eastern State Penitentiary, there were many visitors who took advantage of non-prison food ( btw, no food available in the pen) and a chance to rest and relax after the tour. This converted historic fire station has its wood front doors open for sidewalk as well as interior ( or sit in the doorway for a mixture of both) dining. The expansive central wood bar had seating for the thirsty. Many soup, salad and lighter fare offered. The apple, greens and blue cheese salad was large and tasty, the service was just right, and it was a fun and interesting setting

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wdee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bar”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We sat at the bar for a beer before touring the Eastern State Penitentiary. We put a $20 on the bar and ordered our beers. The bartender gave us our beers took the 20. After our beers he gave us a check and no change. He said he didn't see a $20 dollar bill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Firehouse also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Jack's Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing