We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Elizabeth's Cakes

Sweet Elizabeth's Cakes
Ranked #24 of 170 Bakeries in Philadelphia
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,180 reviews
681 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you want to spoil yourself come here and try one of Elizabeth's famous cupcakes. We enjoyed the red velvet cupcake with the decadent cream icing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“holy cow delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I always have the hardest time choosing which cupcake I want because they come up with such creative and delicious flavors. Let me just say, the Vegan Red Velvet — I'm not vegan at ALL, and it was crazy good.
I also loved the New Year's cupcake and Three Best Friends. Every cupcake I've ever had there has been amazing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank heavyheartedlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, PA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Must stop in if you are in Manayunk.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Better still, visit if you are anywhere near the area. This woman can bake! You will never taste a red velvet cupcake like the one Elizabeth makes-dense, chocolate, moist and sweet with beet juice, like it is supposed to be. No fake food coloring, artificial sweetners, or shortening at this bakery. Just creative, delicious, natural ingredients and you will definitely taste the difference. This is the ultimate cupcake stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kp1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Chew tour stop - red velvet cupcake was yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was the last stop on a Chew tour through Manayunk. I was impressed that we didn't receive a small mini cupcake, instead we rec'd a full size red velvet cupcake. I think the pricing was probably pretty typical of a Phili bakery. I live in the 'burbs near Lancaster, PA and our cupcake shops aren't as expensive, but it's probably due mostly to location! If I was in Manayunk again - I would definitely try a salted caramel cupcake - they had a variety of flavors that looked fabulous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kendrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elizabeth's is SWEET!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I've been to a couple of those "gourmet" cupcake places in New York City. You know, where you stand in line to get a cupcake? Or where they pair cupcakes with wine or beer? Yeah, that was fun. But they do not hold a spatula to Sweet Elzabeth's. The cupcakes here are amazing-moist without being doughy, sweet without being cloying, and made with the best ingredients. Their red velevet cupcake is made with BEETS! And I HATE beets. But I LOVE that cupcake.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BBeardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Elizabeth's Cakes also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Elizabeth's Cakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing