We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campo's

Campo's
Ranked #190 of 4,317 Restaurants in Philadelphia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1947, the Campo family has been making Philly's best sandwiches, homemade soups, and fresh salads.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best philly cheese steak around. A real treat. The staff and cooks are friendly and the food will not disappoint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    125
    80
    24
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
188 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Cheesesteak bust!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Too bad.....the sandwich just didn't deliver. Very little flavor which was simply a shock due to the high praise we had heard from a local. Had to put a lot of salt on it just to "feel it". We have had much better sandwiches at a chain cheesesteak place! I also agree that the cashier/owner's daughter is not a friendly person. Also, the space for sit-down eating was very cramped.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Conmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Campo's for Cheesesteak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Asking a stranger in Philadelphia where to get the best cheesesteak sandwich, I was directed to Campos on Market Street and was not disappointed. Very flavorful and filling. I ordered the cheese steak with cheese whiz, the local favorite, cole slaw and a local beer. All this and a tip took care of $20. Very friendly people, both the staff and the customers. Close to the historical venues.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank colliermj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Authentic Philly CheeseSTEAK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

While touring the Old City of downtown Philadelphia, we wanted to try authentic cheesesteak so we stopped at Campo's which we found on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.
The location on East Market was convenient and easy to find. Outdoor, streetside, seating was available. We decided to eat indoors, in the small cafe style dining area.
The limited menu still offered several Philly sandwiches. The waitress was patient and helpful. We decided to share "the works", sliced beef, grilled onions and peppers and provalone cheese. It was excellent. We also shared a side of bleu cheese stuffed olives. yum!
No wine available but they offer several juices, soda and some bottled beer.
The building itself is old - authentic Philadelphia.
Good location, delicious cheesesteak, and friendly service!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank McTWaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I expected more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The cheesesteak was delicious. The cook was very nice and polite. The lady that served us was nice and polite. I think it's just that since being in Philly we have experienced such lovely service and genuine people that this places atmosphere falls short. We learned about it on triple D so we expected something really authentic. I can't help but feel I would have got a more authentic experience and just as good cheesesteak from a street vendor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenBHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campo's also viewed

 

Been to Campo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing