We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Wasn't It Packed”
Review of Caffe Casta Diva

Caffe Casta Diva
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Casta Diva is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #595 of 4,392 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Locust
Transit: Bus 17 stops at 20th & Locust. Buses 9, 12, 21, 42 stop at 20th & Walnut.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Why Wasn't It Packed”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I was there on a Wednesday night so maybe that is the answer. This BYO, moderately priced Italian, probably is on a weekend. The food was just enough different from the usual to make it more exciting without being nuts. The service was good (though the runner did not know who got what). My only caveats are that some of the tables are tight and, be aware, you need cash. In spite of those gripes, it's a great neighborhood place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jagman8f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“BYOB at its BYO-BEST”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

To celebrate the birthday of a friend who lives on Rittenhouse Square, we decided on Caffe Casta Diva, located right around the corner from their residence. I stopped in 30 minutes before our reservation just to arrange with the Maitre De that the check be given to me. Seeing me carrying my wine tote, he offered to hold it for me until we returned for dinner. (Points scored before we even started.) The room has a nice ambiance. Larger than a lot of Philly BYOB's yet still cozy and intimate. Our coats were taken and hung. Water, warm, fresh bread and dipping oil were served as our wines were uncorked and poured. We were informed of the specials and given a few minutes to talk it over. The waiter returned and knowledgeably answered our few questions about preparation. The field salad was chosen by 3 of our party. The 4th chose the Caesar. All salads were chilled and crisp. Our entrees were the Branzino for my wife, Scallop special for our birthday friend, while her husband and I both chose the Veal Chop. My medium was a nice shade of light pink inside while our friend's medium rare was a definite deeper shade of red. In other words, all entrees were actually cooked to perfect specification. Service, provided by waiter Dave assisted by his busboy, was attentive, prompt and unobtrusive. The food was delicious. Desserts were a chocolate torte and gelatos. We closed the place as we sat and talked and sipped our Port. Never did we feel rushed or like they were waiting for us to leave. They continued to refill our water glasses but otherwise stayed comfortably away. When we left, we were assisted with our coats and urged to return soon. We most definitely will. This was BYOB dining at its best.

Helpful?
Thank theredwiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marvelous Insalata & Pasta”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Walking into this cozy, BYOB Italian restaurant we looked at one another and nodded, this will be a wonderful dining experience, and it was. We restrained ourselves from eating too much bread with buttery olive oil. Beet insalata was divine, beets (cooked to perfection), micro-greens, thinly shaved jicama, candied pistachios with a light vinergarette topped the flattened round of goat & ricotta cheese. Shaved Roasted Artichoke insalata was better than the one I had in Provence this past June … yummy.

My husband all but licked his plate after savoring the Spinach Tagliatelle. I had the pasta special with duck confit … delicious. We will be back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marebones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Italian Cuisine....Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First of all, allow me to preface this critique with a couple items of interest.... This is a BYOB establishment, so you may bring a beverage of your choice. Also, the restaurant is cash only, so leave your plastic in your wallet. Not open on Sunday either, which is a bit odd since it could be a busy night for dining out.

The restaurant itself is very nice and intimate. It is clean, and roomy enough to provide comfort. Service was excellent, and the chef/owner was very friendly and accommodating. He visited our table to make sure we were satisfied with our wonderful Italian cuisine. And it was wonderful, as well as creative.

The menu is limited, but that's OK. Offer a few specialized dishes, and do them extremely well. I dined with a party of four, and we all ordered a different item from the menu. Each dish was superb (we tasted each others meal). You wouldn't go wrong with any item from the menu. There are also very nice dessert offerings as well. We also tried four desserts, and they were wonderful. Cibo eccellente!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCosmicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My "foodie" brother and sister-in-law from NYC were impressed!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having dined here several times with my husband, I felt it was a great place to take my brother and sister-in-law who live in NYC. They were quite taken by the charm of Caffe Casta Diva. I read reviews about the wait staff but we had a very positive experience. Our waitress explained the specials, was efficient and pleasant without being overly present. All the food was perfectly made and presented. I had lamb chops on a parsnip puree. Can't recall the other meals but the plates had nothing left on them! Would not hesitate to return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeaninne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Casta Diva also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Casta Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing