We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Caffe Casta Diva

Caffe Casta Diva
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Casta Diva is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #495 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Locust
Transit: Bus 17 stops at 20th & Locust. Buses 9, 12, 21, 42 stop at 20th & Walnut.
NJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The menu is limited, so I don't understand how, on a Saturday night at 8 PM, two of the selections, one of which is the veal chop, their signature dish, were already gone. The other selection that was gone was the only steak on the menu. The food was fine, but nothing special. The service was the bare minimum. There were only 2 servers, so we waited to order and waited to get our bill. The food arrived in a timely fashion.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traverler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“GREAT FOOD and GREAT TIME”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Food and service are AWESOME! My wife and I were with 6 others and we all loved the food from Appetizers to Entries. We highly recommend Caffe Casta Diva. Make your reservation, that's a must. Stephen is a great chef and between him and his server's they make you feel like family. I promise, you won't be disappointed.
Dennis and Ellen

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Center City Philadelphia”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The food at Caffe Casta Diva is amazing. The homemade pastas and specials are always terrific. The menu changes seasonally, but the salmon, whole-wheat fettuccine with mushrooms, and steak are all fantastic.

They have a solid dessert selection including plenty of homemade gelati. The cappuccino's are really well made.

It's BYO and cash only. Reservations can be hard to get on weekends so call ahead! Closed Sunday and Monday.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laurengonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“understated excellence”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

All 5 of us had a great meal - and they catered well for the vegetarian in our family. BYOB, which we liked - there is a good shop just down the road that sold our favourite German beers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Five of us ate at Caffe Casta Diva last night and each of us had a delicious meal. The owner/chef only uses the freshest ingredients and his preparations are interesting. The waiter even suggested that we do not order the calamari for an appetizer as the chef was not pleased with the squid that was delivered that day. Even the simplest items on the menu, such as the Caesar salad and the beet salad, were outstanding. We sat in the back of the restaurant which is quieter. Our overall dining experience was wonderful and I highly recommend this byob restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Casta Diva also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Casta Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing