We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza to please... with a side of salad and fries...”
Review of Blackbird Pizzeria

Blackbird Pizzeria
Ranked #133 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pizza to please... with a side of salad and fries...”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place is extraordinary because it's all vegan, and it's fresh, fast and affordable. The size is slightly too small, but, given the way the food is produced, it's fitting for what the staff can keep pace with creating and delivering at the top notch quality of fresh, hot and delicious with every table.

From the pizza to the sandwiches, salads to fries, and of course, Vegan Treats desserts, you will not leave here unhappy. The pizza dough is delightfully fresh, crispy and flavorful - the perfect medium for a smattering of fresh ingredients of your choosing or theirs (harvest!!). Really, you can't go wrong. I think the bonus was the french fries!!! Ok, maybe it was the fries and the beet salad. The salad was so fresh and flavorful for a pizzeria, it was fabulous!

When I went a few times in one week, the dinnerware was disposable, including some plastic containers for the salad, so be wary of that. However, the pizza comes on a nice old fashioned dish with paper plates, old-school style, to match. The fries in a nice paper disposable tray, and so too for the sandwiches. There's also other options too, like soup and wings.

Go - you will return again and again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank constantcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    26
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, GA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Healthy Food, Playground Across Street for Kids”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were looking for a place with vegetables that was kid-friendly and happened on this little meat-free place near where we were staying. The salads and roasted vegetables were outstanding and my kids enjoyed the "wings" and pizza. We took the food across the street where the kids played on the two fenced in playsets while we enjoyed our meal on picnic benches in peace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towanda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favorite vegan pizza!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We tried this restaurant during a long weekend in Philly. We liked it so much we went back the next day. My husband thinks it's almost worth making the 4 hour trip to Philly to to eat their pizza. The flavors and combination of ingredients are awesome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatrealfood90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“3 times in 2 days....still want more”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went there several times on a weekend trip. I tried the cheese pizza, the wings, and the cheesesteak. By far some of the best junk/fast vegan food out there. So good, I ordered a pizza and sandwich to take home with me. Truly special and worth the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Vegan fast food – Blackbird gets it right!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is as good as it gets. Especially (obviously) for vegans and vegetarians. But my omnivorous friends love the food here as well.

This is an all vegan place. So no worries about ethics. Just enjoy the yummy flavors and diverse selection.

This is basically half pizza place, half (gourmet) sandwich shop.
They have a good variety of sandwiches, soups, and sides, and always have several specialty slices to go along with plain vegan cheese slices and vegan pepperoni slices.
The Tofu Cubano is great – but my favorite is the wingwich.
But you really can’t go wrong here.

They also have a nice selection of organic sodas, and some desserts as well.

They deliver! Makes me wish I lived in Philly.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank move360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbird Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Blackbird Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing