We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Philly for alternative meals.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackbird Pizzeria

Blackbird Pizzeria
Ranked #144 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best in Philly for alternative meals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Blackbird is awesome. Amazing pizza and hot sandwiches, nice staff and always clean. Never been disappointed with anything ive had there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shesariot267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    26
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tiny hole-in-the-wall pizza and sandwich shack...for vegans!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

From the looks of the place, I wouldn't expect much. It looked like a typical dive pizza slice shop in any big city. The website looked quite nice and didn't really match the experience when we sat down, but I was hungry and not in need of fancy tables and crazy decorations. I'll leave it to the experts to decide how good the food is overall, but for vegan junk food, it was pretty decent. We tried the Egg-less Egg salad sandwich...and a Vegan Cuban with smoked tofu. Both were pretty tasty, although I came in wanting to try a seitan cheesesteak and should have stuck to my guns because someone else was eating one in the dining room and it looked awesome..
The pizzas were NY style...thin crust with what looked like Daiya "cheese", vegan sandwich pepperoni (which didn't resemble anything I've seen in a store...perhaps it was homemade), or a nice assortment of veggies and a few faux meats.
I'm not a hardcore vegan, but I try to keep to the diet as much as I can...so it's good to see places of all sorts that cater to plant-eaters. The fancy, modern, green vegan bistros that serve all organic expensive salads and entrees are nice, but it is also nice to be able to grab some meat-free fast food that isn't chock full of dairy, cholesterol, fat, and preservatives. They deliver too!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DukeretxaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great choice for vegans/vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have visited this place numerous times and even brought non-vegetarians here, and we all agree that the food is wonderful. The place is not fancy by any means...it's an order at the counter type of pizza shop atmosphere. But the food is excellent, and reasonably priced considering it is a specialty food. I would choose their pizza over most "real" pizza shop pizza any day of the week. And their sandwiches are excellent too (they make a chic pea salad that tastes like chicken salad...very yummy!). Definitely worth a visit if you're looking for vegan food and in the South Street area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robertritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could use a heavy duty cleaning.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is basically a hole in the wall pizza joint - but vegan, which is why I went. There were crumbs all over the tables and the bathroom was filthy. It did not bode well. We ordered and the food was very mediocre. Would not recommend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A vegan treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

If you want to eat a vegan pizza, sandwich or dessert this restaurant is for you. It is located a half block off of South Street.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cooperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbird Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Blackbird Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing