We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont order the scalops”
Review of SoleFood - CLOSED

SoleFood
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: 12th
Description: Delicious and uniquely local seafood dishes combine with an elegant, modern atmosphere at SoleFood. Chef Thomas Harkins creates cutting-edge, contemporary American cuisine, offering seafood-inspired choices at breakfast, lunch and dinner, using the very freshest ingredients in his farm-to-table techniques. The freshest fish, meat and produce, locally sourced from regional farmers make dishes like Pan Seared Pocono Trout, Butter Poached Barnegat Bay Fluke and Jersey Sea Scallop Salad truly special. Our Reading Terminal Cheese Plate even features local artisanal cheeses, and, if you’re not in the mood for seafood, there are plenty of meat selections, from beef and lamb to tenderloin. Take a cozy table for two, or join the group at our lively communal table. Or, try traditional American treats like salads, sandwiches, pizza and burgers. Voted one of the “Top 10 Seafood Restaurants” in Philadelphia by Gayot Guide, SoleFood is the ideal dining spot for business or pleasure.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dont order the scalops”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ordered the scallops, got 4 for $24 and NOTHING else!!! Very pricey, not alot for your money. Go to Reading Terminal Market instead, so many choices!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank april123070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great lunches”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It was so good the first time, I returned for a second lunch. Seamless, friendly service and a fine food made it worth a 2nd trip, and I wasn't disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzauregionaldirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

First time in Philly, so I decided not to stray far from my hotel for dinner. So glad I made that decision. I started my meal with a delicious artichoke soup. Also tried to grilled octopus and oysters. Had the raspberry and Meyer-lemon for dessert. None of the meals failed to meet my expectations. Not only was he good spectacular, but service was on point. I wanted for nothing because someone was always at my side to serve me however they could. Ate a few more of my meals there during the rest of me stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor and very slow serve”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Do not use the tall cocktail tables. They are not secure. Food was not bad and drinks were good but the service was very slow in the bar area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great quick lunch”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The restaurant had a 20 minute wait so,we ate in the bar area. It seemed much less noisy than the restaurant and we were perfectly comfortable at a bar table seated on high stools. On the ground floor of the Loew's hotel the Art Deco feel of the place is quite interesting. Our greeter (Cecelia) was a little stressed as the place was very busy for a Monday lunchtime however she made us comfortable and did a great job of serving us as well.

The artichoke and crab soup I had was light and flavoursome however the pasta I followed with was outstanding. Parpadelle with shrimp, sprout leaves and micro mushrooms was a standout. Balanced with just enough EVO and just the ideal amount of "crunch" to perfectly cooked fresh shrimp this was perfect lunchtime fare - I'll definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SoleFood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing