We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great smelts”
Review of Dmitri's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dmitri's
Price range: $0 - $30
Neighborhood: City Center West
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Center West
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great smelts”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The smelts were great, very good service, & a moderate price. Friend had whole fish that was fantastic. We shared a bunch of really good appitizers. It was a Sunday & not too crowded, street parking was pretty easy. Veggie are ala carte & are very tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BoSox999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dmitri's is delicious....”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love this place. It's a great neighborhood spot, but I think overall, their food is consistently delicious... and overall, a great value. We almost always get their shrimp pil pil. It's a little spicy, but the heat is perfect. The grilled scallops are wonderful with a touch of lemon and herbs. The potatoes are crunchy and seasoned with rosemary. Also, the breaded flounder is crispy, but has a great, simplistic flavor. The mixed appetizer plate is rather large, but is also very good.

Inside, it can be a little noisy, but it's not that bad. I really like eating at the bar.

My only complaint (and it's very minor and based on the fact that I love this place!) is that they don't like doing takeout. They do it on occasion, but typically they won't take your order over the phone. We would probably order from here once a week if they did! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelfromct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and BYOB!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The food was awesome (hummus, sizzling cheese, grilled calamari, seafood, greek salad) and we enjoyed being able to bring our own wine with no corkage fee!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Place”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Dimitri's is a wonderful neighborhood Greek flavored spot. While small and noisy Dimitri's offers a great and reasonable menu. I say Greek flavored because you have a great many choices. The wait staff are busy but not so busy that they are not attentive to the diners.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love having it in the 'hood”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Fantastic greek food - way better than going to estia and dropping mucho bucks. it's a BYO...that helps a lot. they dont take reservations - so you can wait at New Wave right next door and they comee get you. Love Dimitri's

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhillyFan436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dmitri's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing