We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location”
Review of Caribou Cafe

Caribou Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Caribou Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #244 of 4,356 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: French, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: 12th Street
Transit: Take the Broad Street Line to Walnut, or the Market-Frankford Line to 11th Bus Lines: 23,47,21,42
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Went with a large group, 20 - 25, people before a play at Forrest Theater. We had made reservations months prior. Staff was very pleasant and helpful but seemed to be a little overwhelmed with service. This did not detract from the experience. The food was average at best. Our group was offered a limited menu selection that was previously arranged. The four main dish selections were; salmon, pork, steak and pasta. Everyone said food was good but it was not a major attraction. The location of the restaurant near the theater was the best part of the night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sang108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    92
    34
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This an authentic French bistro. It has the style, the menu, the ambiance and the drink selection. The menu is a cut above the usual french bistro fare. The food is all that you would expect but there are original items and the cooking is top quality.
The style is classic French but is very relaxed and anyone would be comfortable eating or having a drink here. It is roomy enough that even when it's full it does not feel crowded. It is a great place for a family, friends, couples or even on your own.
The price is reasonable particularly for the quality and style.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pcplod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lousy American waitress”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

...Great French food and drink. Why cant this place find service staff without the attitude? Of all the french places to visit we come back here for the authentic food and constatntly get lousy service staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giacomo215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“French Charm in Philly”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I spotted Caribou Bistro from the bus window on Walnut Street. The bistro is on Walnut near 11th Ave. The bistro could be set in Paris and serves French classics. I had a "Crepe Madame" and my friend had a slamon quiche. The lunch was tasty and reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
566 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Tasty Treats in a Casually Elegant Setting”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had been to the Caribou Cafe during a short visit to Philadelphia in 2009, and loved it. I returned to it twice during another short weekend in Philly just earlier this month. If anything I was even more impressed. I was with a small group of family/friends and we began with a drink at the enticing bar of the Caribou, then made our way to a table and had the difficulty of selecting from a mouth-watering menu of items that I remember from my visits to similar cafes in Paris. Faced with any number of dishes I wanted, I opted for one of the simplest, the Caribou burger, which was simply delicious. My brother ordered the Croque Monsieur and liked it every bit as much as I did the burger. Others in the party chose seafood, from a selection that included escargot, mussels, shrimp, Scottish salmon, skate fish and rainbow trout. Meat eaters can enjoy steak, chicken, and bratwurst, in addition to Boeuf Bourguignon and Cassoulet (which I came VERY close to ordering). There are also crepes and quiche, a lovely variety of salads, and several soups, including the traditional onion soup gratinee, which I tasted and pronounced exceptional. It's a wonderful selection!

The desserts are heavenly, and include a chocolate mousse from a recipe by the mother of owner Olivier de Saint Martin, one of the great chefs of France (and he really is!), which was pronounced delicious. Have an espresso after and as you stroll out, satisfied by the ambience, the friendly service and especially the food, you'll feel as if you're leaving a charming little piece of France, as you step into the bustling Walnut Street of Philadelphia.

I highly recommend the Caribou Cafe!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DottoreGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribou Cafe also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Caribou Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing