We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sophisticated ambiance and beverages”
Review of Valanni

Valanni
Reserve with OpenTable
Valanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #413 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 13th Street
Description: Valanni restaurant opened its doors in September of 2000, introducing "Medi-Latin" cuisine to Philadelphia. Situated right off of the "Avenue of the Arts," Valanni has become a pre-theater ritual and place to meet for a night-cap for many who live in and around the neighborhood. The bar at Valanni keeps up with the creative food served by offering an assortment of sangria, mojitos and other specialty drinks. The kitchen is open until 1 AM daily serving Tapas and a Mediterranean inspired lounge menu.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“sophisticated ambiance and beverages”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

4 circles (what are those things called) for efficiency of service, sophisticated ambiance and location so close to Kimmel and Broad Street attractions. Tapas offerings variable in taste and presentation but generous of portion if you're looking for a pre-show bite. Noisy hang-out for attractive, millennial Martini mashers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4masei5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    27
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Superb food, fun vibe and great service”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a Fantastic meal here with a 12 person group. Our server, Laura, was great. Very friendly, helpful and great service. The three course meal we had featured three very flavorful and well-prepared dishes. The tuna was a highlight and the soup was also great. Fun bar area with a modern Italian vibe. Not traditional Italian, but more of a modern mediterranean menu. Great bar area and cool funky lighting make this place a fun, hip and flavorful option. Lively atmosphere makes it fun and hip for groups. 5/5.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChetX5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“LOVED it!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Best little find in gayborhood. Delicious food and tapas.Cocktails were good. Get the dessert sampler for 25.00 its NOT a sampler! Its big enough for 3 of us to eat. NOTHING on the menu was not delicious!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Figs in Blankets: OH MY!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My ideal meal provides the opportunity to enjoy many differing flavors. Valanni is a great place to do just that!
My friend and I asked our waitress which items other guests had especially liked. Based on her responses and our preferences we ordered the Caprese Flatbread, Figs in Blankets, Spicy Pulled Chicken Empanadas, Crispy Brussel Sprouts and Crispy Shitake Polenta. Everything was more than good, but the Figs in Blankets were outstanding! They are little rolls of applewood-smoked bacon, blue cheese, ripe figs and marcona almonds. They melt in your mouth!
The service was perfect, food arrived quickly and the setting was contemporary but comfortable! We were able to leave for the theater on time without rushing. We will return to explore more of the chef's creations!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The tapas were very good, and the drinks were fine. Plenty of veggie selections; the Brussel sprouts rule. Service was a bit awkward but we got what we wanted, and fairly quickly. It's basically a large, bustling bar with food, and I don't know if it would be my first choice for a relaxed sit-down dinner, but if you want a quick drink and a bite, it's a good choice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chienandalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valanni also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Valanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing