We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Bridget Foy's

Bridget Foy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Bridget Foy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #265 of 4,388 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Second Street
Description: Neighborhood hotspot and family business Bridget Foy's has been delighting patrons with its tantalizing take on modern American cuisine for more than three decades. Since the recent appointment of Executive Chef Daniel James, the menu has incorporated a number of exciting additions alongside perennial favorites like the Standard Burger, which can be personalized to taste with a variety of toppings, from fried onions to a fried egg. The lively bar is a welcome place to sample a rotating selection of local microbrews on draft, build your own Bloody Mary during brunch, or sip on a winter warmer during the cooler months. Alternately, summer in the city is best experienced over a leisurely meal in Bridget Foy's legendary outdoor café - the perfect perch for people watching among the hustle and bustle of one of Philadelphia's most vibrant districts.
Pedricktown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I decided to give this place a try since we were already on south street. Bad choice! Service was sub par and food was awful. Worst place I've been in quite sometime . We will never return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GymGuy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    54
    25
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A fun place for dinner OR Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been coming here for years. The food and service is always consistent.

In nice weather, eating outside and watching people go by is always fun.

Upstairs is much quieter but if you young and like loud then downstairs is for you.

If you're visiting the city, come here for a great breakfast the a late night drink.


    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendship, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A COMFORTABLE GOOD PLACE TO EAT!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After many days of holiday overeating, it was a pleasure to walk down the street from my daughter's home and eat a light meal. The servers are friendly and attentive, the food is good. I had a tasty pistachio goat cheese beet salad and my companion had a hamburger and fries.
We chose to eat early so the restaurant was not too crowded. it's always interesting to eat here and watch the interesting characters who walk past on South Street. This was a perfect ending to our Xmas visit o Philly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT ALLEGANY
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good beers on tap”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had Thanksgiving dinner here this year. There are a half dozen good microbrews on tap and the blood orage belinnis were excellent. The duck taco and calimari appetizers were wonderful. While some of us opted for pumpkin ravioli and beef short ribs rather than the pricier traditional turkey, all the meals were of excellent quality. Serving sizes were moderate, so we were unstuffed this year. Tin ceiling, casual ambiance, and good service all provided a hospitable environment.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very nice place. Great eatery with pub atmosphere”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Very good food. Nice combination of flavors. Good value as well. Lamb meatballs over cous cous is a bomb!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laserza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridget Foy's also viewed

 

Been to Bridget Foy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing